BooksJournal & Newspaper ArticlesStatisticsTheses & DissertationsImage Resources
Online Reference DatabasesDictionaries & EncyclopediasBibliographiesBiographical SourcesCalendar and ChronologyPlace Names, Atlases, and MapsResearch Guides
Silk Road StudiesArt and ArchaeologyHistoryLiterature -- under construction
English Primary Sources on ChinaArchivesChinese Classical TextsNewspapers & JournalsStatisticsChinese Local GazetteersImage Resources
History 862a: Historical Documents in Pre-Modern ChinaHistory 300J/864: Islam in China
This is the "Home" page of the "Chinese Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A research guide for print and online resources related to Chinese studies at the Yale University Library.
Last Updated: May 2, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/China Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Key Reference Databases

  • Apabi Chinese Reference Book Database
    Yale's subscription has 158 titles (320 volumes) of authoritative Chinese reference books, including Hanyu da cidian 漢語大詞典, Ci hai 辭海, Zhongguo da baike quanshu 中國大百科全書, Xinjiang baike quan shu 新疆百科全书, etc. You can see a complete list of titles in the database from here: http://tinyurl.com/cxxzedx.
  • Duxiu 读秀
    A huge content-based database consisting of 800,000,000 full text pages, with very flexible searches (full-text, books, journal and newspaper articles, theses, conference proceedings, etc.).
  • Digital dictionary of Buddhism
    A compilation of Buddhist technical terminology texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources.

Key Statistical Databases

  • China Data Online
    Provides access to monthly and yearly macro-economics statistics, county statistics, census, statistical yearbooks, and more.
  • China INFOBANK
    Provides access to statistics, business reports, economic news, and legal regulations from contemporary China.
  • China Yearbooks Full-text Database
    Yale's subscription includes over 300 statistical yearbooks at national, provincial, city and county levels.

Major Chinese Journal and Newspaper Databases

  • Chinese Academic Journals
    The key source for searching scholarly journal literature published in mainland China. Provides access to thousands of Chinese journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and medicine, with many full-text articles dating back as early as 1915.
  • Wanfang China Online Journals
    Another key source for searching journal literature in mainland China. Includes thousands of Chinese journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • China Core Newspapers
    Collects core newspaper articles from nearly 1,000 newspaper titles published in mainland China since 2000.
  • Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 民国时期期刊全文数据库
    The largest full-text database of periodicals published during the Republican Period. It includes more than 20,000 titles, such as Cosmic Wind 宇宙風, The Young Companion 良友 and Shun Pao Monthly 申報月刊. It allows full-text searching and downloading of scanned PDF files from the print periodicals.
  • People's Daily Full Text 人民日报 (1946- )
    As the official organ of the Chinese government, the People's Daily has comprehensive coverage of China's social, economic, and political affairs. Please try to refresh the browser if you see "service temporarily unavailable" error message. If it is not working, please contact us immediately.
  • Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpō online 臺灣日日新報
    Official newspaper of Taiwan during the Japanese colonial period. Includes both Japanese (1898.5-1944.3) and Chinese (1905.7-1911.11) editions, and covers legislation and news as well as cultural activities in Taiwan under Japanese occupation.
  • National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals 全国报刊索引
    The largest Chinese newspaper and periodical online index database created by the Shanghai Library. Covers the period from 1857 till now, with 15,000,000 items from 15,000 newspapers and periodicals published in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan.

Important Databases of Primary Texts and Documents

  • Scripta Sinica 漢籍電子文獻
    The largest Chinese full text database for the study of pre-modern China. IE recommended. Click on "授權使用" button to access the database.
  • Siku Quanshu 四庫全書
    The most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship up to the 18th century. Covers a wide variety of subjects in the humanities, science, and social sciences.
  • Zhongguo fang zhi ku 中國方志庫
    Contains nearly 10,000 titles of Chinese gazetteers at all levels from Song Dynasty till the Republican Period. To get to the database, please go to http://tinyurl.com/87eygam for instructions.
  • Grand Secretariat Archives 內閣大庫檔案
    Features approximately 310,000 documents originally collected by the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty. Includes imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute documents, examination documents, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation, and old documents from Mukden.
  • Grand Council Archives 清代宮中檔奏摺及軍機處檔摺件全文影像資料庫
    Provides metadata searching and full image reproductions of Qing Palace Memorials and Archives of the Grand Council held in the National Palace Museum in Taipei.
  • Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center Digital Library
    Contains more than 7,000 works (17,000 volumes) of Tibetan texts. Each year between 500,000 and 1,000,000 million pages are added.

Public Services Librarian

Profile Image
Tang Li
Contact Info
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions related to East Asian/Chinese studies. I am located in SML 213. You can stop by my office or make an appointment with me by email.
Send Email

Librarian for Chinese Studies

Profile Image
Michael Meng
Contact Info
213C Sterling Memorial Library
Phone: 203-432-4438
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip