This is the "Home" page of the "Manuscripts & Archives Senior Essay Prizes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Manuscripts & Archives Senior Essay Prizes  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/MSSAprize Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Manuscripts & Archives Diane Kaplan Memorial Senior Essay Prizes

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Manuscripts and Archives Diane Kaplan Memorial Senior Essay Prizes!

We thank all eighteen Yale College seniors who submitted senior essays for prize consideration, and congratulate the following two students on their excellent prize-winning essays:

  • Outstanding Senior Essay on Yale: Elizabeth D. James, Branford College (adviser: Professor Jay Gitlin). The True University: Yale's Library from 1843-1931.
  • Outstanding Senior Essay Based on Research Done in Manucripts and Archives: Raymond L. Noonan III, Saybrook College (adviser: Professor Beverly Gage). Insurgent Labor Activists at Yale, 1968-1971.

Manuscripts and Archives offers two student prizes each year, in memory of our colleague Diane E. Kaplan, who was instrumental in making these prizes available to Yale College seniors. One is awarded for an outstanding senior essay on Yale. The second is awarded for an outstanding senior essay based on research done in Manuscripts and Archives. Each student will receive a $500 cash prize, which will be presented at the student's residential college commencement ceremony. Essays from any department are eligible for consideration. Faculty and others may encourage submissions, but students must submit the essays themselves for prize consideration. Prizewinning essays are published in EliScholar. The essay prize submission and judging process takes place each year in March-April.

The submission period for 2015 senior essays is closed. No additional submissions will be accepted.

For more information, contact:

    Bill Landis
    Head of Public Services, Manuscripts & Archives
    e-mail: bill.landis@yale.edu
    telephone: (203) 432-1069

 

For More Information

Bill Landis

Head of Public Services, Manuscripts & Archives

e-mail: bill.landis@yale.edu

telephone: (203) 432-1069

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip