This is the "Policies & Procedures" page of the "Music Library Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Music Library Special Collections   Tags: music, special collections  

Finding and using archives, manuscripts, rare books and scores, and other special collections at the Music Library.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/musicspecial Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Policies & Procedures Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

 

The library's special collections are open to Yale students (including undergraduates), faculty, and staff, and also to researchers from around the world.

We are open Monday through Friday, from 8:30 AM to 4:45 PM. We're closed for certain holidays and recess periods; for more information, see the library calendar

Most of our special collections are stored in an off-site shelving facility, so it's very important to  make arrangements with us in advance. (If you arrive unannounced, you will probably not be able to see the materials right away.) After you've identified what you need (with the help of Orbis or the Yale Finding Aid Database), just let us know what you'd like to see, and we'll have it delivered to the Music Library for your use. You can request up to five archival boxes or other items per day of research. It's a good idea to give us your list of requests at least two business days before your visit, so we can be sure that everything is ready for you.

Before you visit, please fill out the online registration form. When you arrive, we will complete the registration process by taking your photograph and checking your ID. You will need either a current Yale ID or a current government-issued ID such as a driver's license or passport. Registration is good for a year, and enables you to do research at various Yale libraries.

You will do your research in our Rare Book Reading Room, which is part of the office suite upstairs in the Music Library. You may not bring coats, bags, pens, food, or drink into the Rare Book Reading Room.

You may take photographs of the materials, provided you do not use flash or disturb other researchers. You can request that we make scans, photocopies, or microfilm of special collections materials for you. (But if you want to publish material that's under copyright, it's up to you to get permission from whoever owns the copyright.) More information about our copy services (including prices) is available. You can make copy requests even if you are not able to visit the library in person.

A few of the Music Library's most important holdings are shelved across the street, at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. To study these items, please consult the Beinecke Library directly.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Richard Boursy
Contact Info
richard.boursy@yale.edu
203-432-7883
Send Email

My Profile

Profile Image
Suzanne Eggleston Lovejoy
Contact Info
Music Library, SML, Room ML112
(203) 432-0497
Make an appointment
Send Email
Personal Librarian:
School of Music, Institute of Sacred Music
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip