MSS 101 - Collection of Geraldine Farrar Correspondence and Other Material; 1'
Misc. Ms. 287 - Gabriel Fauré: Letters to Paul Dukas; 0.5'
Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) and Paul Dukas (1865-1935) were two of the leading French composers of their era. Both men were associated with the Paris Conservatoire; Dukas was a student and later a professor, while Fauré (who had been educated at the Ecole Niedermeyer) served as professor and then director. Dukas, who left a relatively small body of compositions, is best remembered for The Sorcerer's Apprentice. Fauré is known for his songs, piano works, chamber music, and Requiem.
Fauré's letters to Dukas include 60 autograph letters and postcards. This manuscript group also holds 2 poems in Fauré's hand, a postcard with a portrait of Fauré, and a silver pocket metronome.
MSS 108 - The Sylvia Fine and Danny Kaye Musical Comedy Library; 19'
The collection includes published or typescript scores, sheet music, lyrics, librettos and other materials from the collection of Sylvia Fine and Danny Kaye.
Researchers interested in Fine and Kaye may also wish to consult the Danny Kaye and Sylvia Fine Collection at Music Division of the Library of Congress. That collection contains the bulk of their personal papers.
MSS 135 - The Allen Forte Papers; 7.5'
Allen Forte (1926-2014) was one of the most influential music theorists of the 20th century. An early proponent of Schenkerian analysis and a pioneer in the development of pitch class set theory, Forte was also a passionate admirer of American popular song from the 1920s, '30s, and '40s. From 1959 until his retirement, he taught at Yale University, where he trained numerous music theorists, many of whom became leaders in the field. His papers include analytical notes, correspondence, and a variety of other materials. Much of the collection is available online in the Allen Forte Electronic Archive at the University of North Texas.
MSS 139 - The Madeleine Hsu Forte Papers; 2'
The pianist Madeleine Hsu Forte was born in France in 1938, but has spent most of her career in the United States. A student of Wilhelm Kempff, Alfred Cortot, Rosina Lhevinne, and Martin Canin, she holds a Ph.D. from New York University. She taught at Boise State University for many years. She has released several CDs, and is the author of two books, Olivier Messiaen, The Musical Mediator and Simply Madeleine: The Memoir of a Post-World War II French pianist. (Not yet processed)
MSS 76 - The Charles Frink Papers; 3'
Charles Frink (1928-2014; Yale Class of 1951, Ph.D. 1956) was a Connecticut-based composer and educator. The collection consists chiefly of manuscript scores of works by Frink. Some of his vocal compositions are settings of texts by his wife, Resurrección Espinosa. (Not yet processed)
MSS 88 - The Richard F. French Papers; 0.5'
Richard F. French (1915-2001) was a musicologist who taught at the Yale School of Music and the Juilliard School. He was also active in music publishing. This small collection consists mainly of his class notes for courses taught at the Yale School of Music between 1993 and 2000. (Not yet processed)
MSS 16 - The Galeazzi Collection; 4.5'
The Collection was purchased from Marchesa Novella Castiglioni in Falconara (near Ancona) in 1971 by Harold E. Samuel while on sabbatic leave in Italy. It consists of 130 manuscripts and some printed material (added to the Rare Book Collection). Among the few dated manuscripts, the earliest is 1806, the latest 1898, thus spanning several generations of the Galeazzi family. The most prominent musician in the family was Francesco Galeazzi (1758-1819), the author ofElementi teorico-practici di musica (Rome, 1791-96), 2 volumes, which is important for its early description of sonata form. The Collection of manuscripts is rather evenly divided between vocal and instrumental music. Operatic excerpts, especially those of Donizetti, Rossini, and Verdi, make up the major portion.
MSS 37 - The Samuel Gardner Papers; 4'
Samuel Gardner (1891-1984) studied with Charles Martin Loeffler, Felix Winternitz, Fritz Kneisel, and Percy Goetschius. He had a prominent career as a violinist in the well-known Kneisel Quartet, as a recitalist, and as a soloist with leading orchestras in the United States and Europe. Among his compositions are a Violin Concerto, which he premiered in 1918 with the Boston Symphony under Pierre Monteux, the Second String Quartet, for which he received a prize from the Pulitzer Foundation, and "From the Canebrake," his most familiar composition and still a standard encore piece for violinists. The Papers contain his music, correspondence, photographs, programs, and clippings.
MSS 35 - The Henry Gilbert Papers; 37'
Henry Gilbert (1868-1928) achieved distinction not only as a composer and lecturer, but also as an editor and writer whose articles appeared in many journals. The inclusive dates of his Papers are from 1821 to 1980, though the bulk of material dates between the late 19th century and Gilbert's death in 1928. They contain holograph, manuscript and published music by Gilbert and others, correspondence with leading musicians of the day, clippings, programs, scrapbooks, diaries, financial and legal items, musical games, and writings by him and others. There is also music of his father, Benjamin Franklin Gilbert (1828-1894), and his uncle James L. Gilbert. Gilbert worked extensively with Arthur Farwell in the Wa-Wan Press. Folk songs, and in particular Afro-American music and Indian music, were sources of inspiration to Gilbert.
MSS 12 - The Sidney Rose Collection of Gilbert and Sullivan; 12'
The sixteen boxes of material were collected by Rose, who intended to write a history of Gilbert and Sullivan production in America. Included are newspaper and periodical articles pertaining to specific productions, revivals, and artists; production pictures; librettos, scores, and sheet music; and posters. Additional material concerning Gilbert and Sullivan, not a part of Rose's Collection, is in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.
MSS 9 - John Carter Glenn Collection; 5'
A collection of 27 autographs and autograph letters signed, dating from 1886 to 1912, including letters of d'Albert, Tchaikovsky, Victor Herbert, Moskowsky, Paderewski, and Scharwenka.
See Kosakoff, The Ravi D. Goel Collection of Reuven of
MSS 53 - The Benny Goodman Papers; ca.120'
The papers of the clarinetist and band leader Benny Goodman (1909-1986) include about 1500 arrangements, many sound recordings and films, about 5,000 photographs, and numerous other letters, scrapbooks, clippings, programs, awards, and memorabilia. The arrangements have been fully processed and a finding aid is available; the remainder of the collection is partially processed.
See also the Benny Goodman Collection at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts for 500 other arrangements, as well as the D. Russell Connor Collection of Benny Goodman Interviews.
Misc. Ms. 60 - The Gounod Society Papers; 0.5'
Founded in 1887 as a small choral society dedicated to singing glees and part-songs, the Gounod Society grew to include more than 300 singers and regularly performed large choral works with the New Haven Symphony. The founding of the New Haven Oratorio Society in 1903 effectively ended the rehearsals and performances of the Gounod Society. The papers of the New Haven Oratorio Society can be found in the Music Library as MSS 5. This collection documents the activities of the Gounod Society of New Haven from its inception in 1887 to its dissolution in 1903. It includes programs, clippings, attendance records, minutes, a constitution, correspondence, and other documents. Two of the letters were written in 1917 and 1919, long after the Society's dissolution.
Misc. Ms. 53 - Selected Compositions of Elliot Griffis; 0.5'
Elliot Griffis was born on January 28, 1893 in Boston. He was educated at Ithaca College, the Yale School of Music (where he studied with Horatio Parker), and the New England Conservatory. He taught at numerous schools and performed widely as a pianist, before moving to Los Angeles to compose film music. He died there on June 8, 1967. This collection consists primarily of published piano music, songs, and the violin sonata by Griffis. It also includes a holograph score of the composer's Intrata for piano, as well as photocopies of holograph scores for 7 other compositions. The last folder of the collection contains a small amount of biographical material, including portraits, programs, and reviews.
MSS 145 ; 1'
This collection contains images of plucked string instruments (chiefly lute, guitar, and banjo) and musicians who played them. It includes engravings, illustrations from magazines and newspapers, sheet music covers, and photographs. (Not yet processed.)
MSS 81 - The Thomas Hall Collection; 1.5'
The Thomas Hall Collection consists of correspondence and documents created and collected by Arthur Mendel during his tenures as editor for Associated Music Publishers and as faculty member in the Music Department of Princeton University. Over half of the collection relates to Paul Hindemith, and includes scores of Hindemith's music, documents written or corrected by Hindemith, and correspondence between Mendel and Hindemith regarding the publication of Hindemith's musical and theoretical works. (Partially processed)
MSS 57 - The John Hammond Papers; ca. 12'
The legendary record producer and talent scout John Hammond (1910-1987) bequeathed papers to Yale as selected by his executors. What Yale received was a large amount of office correspondence and memoranda, dealing largely with the times, places, and contents of recording sessions at Columbia Records and the arrangements for and financing of the sessions. While the memos might document scouting visits, they normally do not include Hammond's evaluations. His Papers, combined with those of Fred Plaut (MSS 52), Leonard Burkat (MSS 25), and Goddard Lieberson (MSS 69), offer extensive information about the important activities of Columbia Records. (Partially processed)
MSS 83 - The E. Y. Harburg Collection; 30'
E. Y. ("Yip") Harburg (1898-1981) donated his manuscripts: light verse, notes, scripts, songs for political benefits, and lyrics for musicals and films, as well as various speeches, articles, and testimonials, which form the larger portion of the collection. A smaller section called "Harburgiana" includes correspondence, publicity, reviews, programs, scrapbooks, and memorabilia.
MSS 46 - The Thomas de Hartmann Papers; 15'
Thomas de Hartmann (1886-1956) studied with Anton Arensky and Serge Taneieff in Russia before going to Munich to study conducting with Felix Mottl. In Munich he collaborated with Wassily Kandinsky in the composition of Der gelbe Klang. He left Russia permanently during the revolution and after many years in Paris immigrated to the United States in 1950. He was an ardent follower and collaborator of the philosopher Georges Ivanovitch Gurdjieff. His Papers include essentially all of his extant manuscript and printed music, as well as correspondence, programs, sketches, and literary writings.
See Paul Dukas Correspondence with Marguerite Hasselmans, and Related Materials
MSS 97 - The Fenno Heath Papers; 10'
Fenno Heath (1926-2008) spent his entire career at Yale. A member of the Class of 1950, he sang in the Glee Club, the Spizzwinks (?) and the Whiffenpoofs. He received the B.Mus. in 1951 and the M.Mus. in 1952 from the School of Music in 1952. In 1953 he succeeded Marshall Bartholomew as director of the Yale Glee Club, a position he held until his retirement in 1992. His papers include his compositions and arrangements, as well as correspondence, photographs, programs, and articles. (Not yet processed)
See The Artur Holde and Heida Hermanns Papers (Not yet processed)
MSS 47 - The Paul Hindemith Collection; 27'
Paul Hindemith (1895-1963) was Professor of Music at Yale from 1940 to 1953. Fourteen of Hindemith's autograph manuscripts are included in the Papers as gifts from his widow, Gertrude, and from friends and students. Other materials were collected by Luther Noss from former students and colleagues and consist of programs, reviews, student papers and compositions, correspondence, photographs, classroom papers, and published compositions and writings.
See also the Kurt Stone Papers, the Thomas Hall Collection, and the website of the Paul Hindemith Foundation.
MSS 78 - The Artur Holde and Heida Hermanns Papers; 1'
Artur Holde (1885-1962) and Heida Hermanns (1906-1995) were German musicians who married in 1931 and moved to the United States in 1936, eventually settling in Connecticut. He was a synagogue conductor, music critic, and the author of the book Jews in Music. She was a pianist who had studied with Egon Petri, Artur Schnabel, and Isabella Vengerova, and had notable performing careers on both sides of the Atlantic. She was also a philanthropist. A concert hall in Westport, Connecticut is named for her husband, and a competition (also based in Westport) is named for her. (Not yet processed)
MSS 55 - The Papers of Vladimir and Wanda Toscanini Horowitz; 69'
Mr. and Mrs. Horowitz began their gifts to the Music Library in August 1986, and Mrs. Horowitz continued the presentations until her death in 1998. The finding aid lists all of the material dealing with the career of Vladimir Horowitz (1903-1989) and Mrs. Horowitz's holdings of materials dealing with the career of her father, Arturo Toscanini. The latter includes many photographs, scrapbooks, correspondence, and memorabilia. The former includes correspondence, programs and program notes, photographs, clippings, contracts, schedules, financial documents, awards, and items from the library of Vladimir Horowitz, including autograph manuscripts of Robert Schumann and Felix Mendelssohn, and autograph letters of Liszt, Mendelssohn, Schumann, and Tchaikovsky.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved