BooksArticlesNewspapersMoviesImages
South Asian Beinecke CollectionsSouth Asia in MSSABritish IndiaMissionaries in South AsiaMahatma GandhiHimalayan Special CollectionsPersian CollectionsArt and ArchitectureSanskrit / Pali / Prakrit
This is the "Home" page of the "South Asia Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

A summary of Yale University Library's South Asia Collection, which includes material from and about Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/SouthAsia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

South Asia

Mahabharata, 1850. Persian MSS +94, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Libary

 

 

Map of the Sterling Nave under construction

Do you feel lost in the temporary blazingly white walls of Sterling's Nave? Here's a rough map of where things live now. Feel free to ask for help/directions!

 

Research on South Asia

This Guide is intended to give students and researchers a starting point for learning about South Asia using Yale University Library resources. Geographically South Asia incorporates: 

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka

You can find information on how to search the library, language resources, data and statistics, web resources, current events from or about South Asia; plus more general help on how to use the library.

Note that in the "Search" box in the title bar of this Guide, you can search within this Guide, all Guides, the Orbis catalog, or do a Web search using Google.

Other Libraries Worldwide

  • CONSALD (U.S. South Asian Librarians and Collections)
    CONSALD, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, is organized as a committee of the South Asia Council of the Association for Asian Studies, Inc. The primary objective of the Committee is the development of North American library resources on South Asia.
  • Libraries & Archives in South Asia (LASA)
    A large list in Wiki format of libraries and archives across South Asia.
  • South Asia: Resources for South Asian studies in the British Library
    The British Library offers exceptionally rich resources for the study of South Asia, past and present. South Asia is taken to include India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tibet, Bhutan, Sikkim, Nepal and Sri Lanka.
  • US National Archives: Online Public Access
    The Online Public Access prototype is our first step to providing a single search to our records from several of our current systems, including the Archival Research Catalog (ARC), Access to Archival Databases (AAD), Archives.gov, and the Electronic Records Archive (ERA).

Librarian for South Asian Studies

Profile Image
Sarah Calhoun
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
Sterling Memorial Library, room 210
(look for the bulletin board)
International Collections and Research Support

Mail: PO Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240

Tel: (203) 432-7795
Send Email
Favorite Books:
Writing down the bones : freeing the writer within / Natalie Goldberg
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip