Access to Collections and BorrowingUse of Library SpacesPatron RecordsCopyright Guidance
Aeon Users GroupBudget Management Forum (BMF)Catalog Policy and Documentation CommitteeCollection Steering CommitteeCouncil for Research Services and Collections (CRSC)Digital Initiatives Advisory BoardDiversity CommitteeFinding Aids Coordinating Committee (FACC)Joint Departmental Committee (JDC)Leadership ForumLibrary Executive Committee (LEC)Library Staff Appreciation and Recognition Committee (L-SARC)Library Staff Association (LiSA)Manuscript Cataloging CommitteePromotion Review CommitteeReference, Instruction, and Outreach (RIO)SACO Coordinating CommitteeSpecial Collections Steering CommitteeTag Tables & Templates Committee
This is the "Access to Collections and Borrowing" page of the "About the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About the Library  

Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/about Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Access to Collections and Borrowing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Resources Access and Use

Most of the library's electronic resources are governed by license agreements that limit use to the Yale community or to individuals who are physically present at Yale University Library facilities. Each user is responsible for ensuring that he or she uses these products solely for noncommercial, educational, scholarly or research use. Systematic downloading, distribution of content to non-authorized users or indefinite retention of substantial portions of information is strictly prohibited. The use of software such as scripts, agents, or robots, is generally prohibited and may result in loss of access to these resources for the entire Yale community. The Yale University Appropriate Use of Information Technology Policy prohibits violations of these license agreements.

The licensed electronic resources made available by the Yale University Library are for the personal, clinical, research, scholarly, or instructional activities of current Yale University or Yale-New Haven Hospital faculty, staff, students and other authorized users. Copyright Law (including the protections of "fair use") and contractual license agreements govern the access, use, and reproduction of these resources.

  • Permitted actions generally include: downloading, temporarily storing, or printing discrete reasonable portions of the materials.

  • Prohibited actions generally include: Sharing of passwords of authorized access codes, systematic downloading of significant portions of the materials, posting copyrighted materials on a publicly accessible website (including social media sites), or commercial exploitation of the licensed information.

*Please Be Aware*

  • Sharing an access password with unauthorized users--including family, friends, or co-workers--may result in suspension or revocation of library privileges. Non-affiliated users may, however, access most electronic library resources from workstations in most Yale University Library locations. Downloading entire issues of electronic journals, several sequential chapters in online books, or attempting to create large databases from bibliographic files, is generally prohibited by license agreements. Systematic downloading of content -- manually or with specialized software--is detectable by information providers and may result in loss of that information service to the relevant computer addresses or the entire Yale University community.  Material breach of authorized terms and conditions of use may also subject the violator to institutional disciplinary procedures and personal liability in judicial proceedings.
  • Engaging in actions intended to circumvent or defeat access control mechanisms of the Library or information provider may result in revocation of library privileges and other campus or civil disciplinary measures.
  • Sharing proprietary or client software connected to information resources, such as that used to analyze spatial data or search and retrieve texts, is also prohibited under the terms of academic licenses.
  • Each licensed product may have more specific or additional permissions or prohibitions. If you have any questions about use of Yale's electronic resources, please contact the library's Office on Licensing and Copyright.

This statement conforms with the Yale University Appropriate Use of Information Technology Policy.

 

Borrower Responsibilities

  • Borrowers are responsible for library materials charged out to them until they are received by the library.
  • Borrowers are prohibited by Library policy from lending their library card to others.
  • Borrowers are prohibited by Library policy from borrowing library materials for another person.  Faculty members may have a proxy charge materials to their account.  Please contact the Privileges Office for more information.  
  • Yale University students, faculty and staff are responsible for maintaining current contact information with their School’s Registrar or Departmental Business Office.
  • Non-Yale library cardholders are responsible for maintaining current contact information in My Account and upon renewal of library privileges.
  • Borrowers who abuse Library borrowing privileges may have their privileges suspended throughout the Yale University Library.  Examples of abuse of library borrowing privileges include but are not limited to delinquency in returning materials by stated due dates, NOT paying replacement bills, NOT responding to recall notices, returning library materials even after replacement bills have been issued, and mutilation or damage of library materials.
  • Fines, replacement fees and processing fees are regularly assessed for late materials. More information is available on fines and blocks on patron accounts.

 

Notices to Borrowers

You will receive item available, recall (new due date), overdue notices, and fine/fee billing notices via e-mail from library.notices@yale.edu.  These notices are sent as a courtesy.  We encourage all library users to check their library accounts regularly to manage recalls and due dates.

  • Yale University faculty, staff and students with Yale IDs:  If you have a new email address, be sure to update your information with your department administrative or business office. 
  • Users with Library-issued IDs: Update your email address with the Privileges Office.
 

Fines and Blocked Accounts

  • It is the responsibility of the borrower to return or renew an item by the due date.
  • All library cardholders may be assessed fines for various reasons, including books returned late.  For details, please refer to the Borrowing and Circulation Guide.
  • There are maximum numbers of materials that can be borrowed and fines. Once a maximum is reached or a recalled item is not returned the library may block borrowing privileges. For details, please refer to the Borrowing and Circulation Guide.
  • If you have a question about a fine or blocked account, please contact the Privleges Office at smlcirc@yale.edu or by phone (203) 432-1775.

 

Contact Privileges Staff

Contact

Send questions to Privileges / Sterling Memorial Library Circulation

Location

The Privileges Office is located on the ground floor of Sterling Memorial Library in the Franke Periodical Reading Room.

Hours

Mon-Fri: 8:30AM-12:45PM and 2PM-4:45PM
Saturday: 10AM-2PM
Sunday: Closed

Detailed hours

 

Get Help

Help is available Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Emal Email: askyale@gmail.com

Call Call: (203) 432-1775

SMS text Text: (203) 826-2053

 Tweet:  @askyale

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip