Access to Collections and BorrowingUse of Library SpacesPatron RecordsCopyright Guidance
Aeon Users GroupBudget Management Forum (BMF)Catalog Policy and Documentation CommitteeCollection Steering CommitteeCouncil for Research Services and Collections (CRSC)Digital Initiatives Advisory BoardDiversity CommitteeFinding Aids Coordinating Committee (FACC)Joint Departmental Committee (JDC)Leadership ForumLibrary Executive Committee (LEC)Library Staff Appreciation and Recognition Committee (L-SARC)Library Staff Association (LiSA)Manuscript Cataloging CommitteePromotion Review CommitteeReference, Instruction, and Outreach (RIO)SACO Coordinating CommitteeSpecial Collections Steering CommitteeStanding Committee on Professional Awareness (SCOPA)Tag Tables & Templates Committee
This is the "Copyright Guidance" page of the "About the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About the Library  

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/about Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Copyright Guidance Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Yale University Library Web Site Copyright

Users of this site may copy content from it without permission (excluding any material for which the Yale University Library does not hold copyright) if the Yale University Library is acknowledged in the copy and the copy is used for educational or not-for-profit purposes.

Any public domain material embedded in this site may, of course, be used without permission.

We welcome links to our sites. You are free to establish a hypertext link to any Yale University Library Web page as long as the link does not state or imply any sponsorship of your site by Yale University or any Yale University library.

For commercial use of material on this web site, please refer to the application form Publishing Materials Held in the Yale University Library Collections.

 

Collections Copyright Policy

The Yale University Library, as one of the world's leading research libraries, collects, organizes, preserves, and provides access to and services for a rich and unique record of human thought and creativity. Through its web sites, the Library offers public access to a range of its collections through online exhibitions, archival finding aids, digital image repositories, and the online public access catalog.

Whenever possible, the Library provides factual information about copyright owners and related matters in catalog records, finding aids, and other texts that accompany collections or individual items. In many cases the Library may not hold copyright over items in the collections, nor images displayed online. Permission to use images and possible fees may be required by the copyright owner independently of the Library. It is the researcher's obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials found in the Library's collections. Transmission or reproduction of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use requires the permission of the copyright owners. Researchers must make their own assessments of rights in light of their intended use.

 

Notice to Copyright Holders

The creators of the Yale University Library Web site have made every effort to secure permission to use the works of others on this site. Any use of others’ works on this site is the result of either explicit permission from the copyright owner, a good faith belief (following investigation) that the work is in the public domain, or a fair use for purposes of research and scholarship under copyright laws. See 17 U.S. Code §107. Our goal is to make information and resources available to the community; we have no intent to offend anyone's ownership rights in intellectual property. If you are a copyright claimant with regard to any work on this site, and you object to our use of it, please contact Susan Gibbons, Yale University Librarian, or Len Peters, Associate Vice President and University Chief Information Officer. Either of these University officers will be pleased to confer with you about any concerns you might have.

 

Information Regarding Publisher Take-Down Notices

In publishing a journal article, you may wish to post your article online. You should be aware that publicly posted journal articles may be subject to publisher DMCA (Digital Millennium Copyright Act) take-down notices. These notices target online research communities such as Academia.edu, academic institutions, and individual researchers, and typically state that the article(s) in question infringe on copyright and must be taken down.


As a member of the Yale University community, if you happen to receive such a notice, please consider taking the following course of action:

  • Check the publishing agreement that you signed with that publisher to determine if you have, or have not, violated the terms of the agreement. If you cannot locate the original, signed agreement, reply to the publisher asking them to send you a copy of the signed copyright/publishing agreement so that you may confirm what rights you have transferred to them. The publisher may enforce any rights that they hold but it is certainly reasonable to ask them to demonstrate that they do, in fact, hold the rights that they claim.
  •  If needed, replace the article that is the subject of the take-down request with an acceptable version (possibly the preprint or postprint). Use the SHERPA/RoMEO Publisher Copyright Policies & Self-Archiving database to find a summary of permissions that are normally part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
  • SPARC, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, provides information to help authors negotiate their licenses with publishers, including a link to the SPARC Author’s Addendum.

For further information or questions, please contact, Joan Emmet (Yale University Library, Licensing & Copyright Librarian), joan.emmet@yale.edu.

Adapted with permission from McMaster University, Information for Faculty Regarding Elsevier Take-Down Notices.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip