Use of Library Spaces
A valid Yale University ID Card permits access to Yale University Library buildings.
- Users registered for stacks access or borrosing privileges: Access to Library faciliteis for all open hours with valid Yale university Library card.
- Users registered for desk passes: Access to Library facilities until 6 p.m. or closing, whichever is earlier.
For explanations and fees of the types of access available to non-Yale users, check the Borrowing and Circulation Guide.
Please check with the specific Yale Library building for special rules and hours of operation.
Security of Collections and Appropriate Conduct
The preservation, safeguarding, and stewardship for the collections are the responsibilities of all members of the Yale University Community and its visitors. To achieve these goals, the Library has developed a security policy that is respectful of the individual's right to access to materials and - at the same time - protects the Library's unique and irreplaceable assets.
The following incidences are considered violations of the Library's security policy for its collections and are applicable at all of the Library's school & department libraries and special collections:
- Intended or attempted theft of library materials, including the concealment of library materials in personal effects (e.g., briefcase, outer garments) or on one's person
- Removal of security devices from library materials or other mutilation of materials for the purpose of avoiding detection at Security Checkpoints
- Defacing, mutilating, or damaging library materials, equipment, or property
- Theft and/or possession of materials stolen from the Library
- Encouragement of another to steal, mutilate, or damage Library materials
- Sale of stolen Library materials is an egregious act that may subject its perpetrator to actions by the Library, the University, and local law enforcement
- Refusal to show University or other identification upon request of Library Staff, Library Security, University Police or Security, and/or local law enforcement
- Refusal to allow a check of personal possessions and books prior to departing the Library
- Sequestering library materials within the Library to restrict its use by others
- Remaining in the Library after closing hours
- Entering nonpublic or Library Staff areas without proper authorization
- Refusal to follow the direction of Library Staff during an emergency or a similar situation involving a breach of security
- Bringing alcoholic beverages into Library areas is not allowed; for details, see the Library's food and beverage policy.
- Leaving bags, parcels, and packages on the premises
- Covering or in some way disengaging security cameras and other security devices
- Falsely reporting an emergency
- Departing the Library using emergency exits outside of times of emergency
- Conduct that is disturbing to other readers or detracts from the research, scholarship, and study environment of the Library
Please consult the websites of individual school and department libraries for specific security and access policies pertaining to their collections.
Disciplinary action, including, but not limited to, probation, suspension of Library privileges, etc., will be taken when any of the Library's security policies are violated. The monetary value of the material taken and/or damaged is not a consideration in pursuing action by the Library, University, and/or local law enforcement.
Appropriate Use of Library Computers
Yale University Library maintains public computers in support of research and learning at Yale University. Specific implementation of this policy may vary from one library to another within the Yale University Library system.
Yale University faculty, student and staff members may use any available public library computer located in areas where they have authorized access. Library staff may require individuals who are not affiliated with Yale University to substantiate an appropriate research purpose in order to use library computers.
Yale faculty, students, and staff can expect to have ready access to a computer, though sometimes with minimal delays at peak times. While the Library intends to provide ready access to computers, at times demand will exceed supply. When others are waiting researchers are asked to use reasonable restraint in the use of these shared resources.
Researchers with special needs. The Library will provide at least one wheelchair accessible computer in each major computer cluster within the library system. Persons requiring other assistance to access information from a Library's workstation are urged to ask for help from Library staff.
The use of Library computers is subject to the same policies governing the use of other Yale University facilities, including all applicable state and federal laws, copyright restrictions, and license agreements. See Information Technology Appropriate Use Policy.
Tampering with the hardware or software on the computers is strictly prohibited. Violations may result in university disciplinary action or referral to appropriate external authorities.
Cell Phones in the Library
Cell phones and pagers are permitted in the library. It is expected, however, that people using cell phones will be respectful of others. To provide an optimal environment for research and study and for library staff to do their work, people are asked that cell phones be turned to low, that ringers be silenced (set to vibrate) and that calls be short. Lengthy calls should be made in areas where the conversation does not disturb others. These appropriate areas differ by library because of varying architecture, locations of study spaces, service desks, and staff offices. Please honor requests for quiet and move to another location if an unintended distraction occurs. Thank you for your cooperation.
Library Managment Council approved May 12, 2004
Final wording revised May 17, 2004
Children and Young Adults in the Library
Members of the Yale University community will occasionally need to bring their children with them to the library. The library's paging and Eli Express services may serve as a convenience for parents or caregivers, particularly those with young children, as they provide for placing requests through Orbis in advance so that materials will be waiting for pickup at a selected circulation desk. Please be aware of the following when bringing young people to the library:
In areas where Yale University-issued identification is not required:
- An adult must accompany children under the age of 14 at all times.
- Teenagers aged 14-17 who are not Yale students may meet adult members of the Yale community for educational purposes (e.g. tutoring) unaccompanied by another adult. The teen should be prepared to show a high school ID or an explanatory letter from a sponsoring organization (e.g. Dwight Hall).
In areas where Yale University-issued identification is required for entry to public spaces (e.g. the SML stacks):
- Children and young adults may enter when accompanying an adult with valid ID.
- Parents and caregivers are asked to be with the young people at all times.
- As with adults, any bags, backpacks, books, etc. carried by young people must be presented for inspection when leaving the library.
- High school students and younger are not eligible to obtain library services unless affiliated with a program recognized by Yale University according to the Library Privileges guidelines.
- School and Department libraries or special collections (e.g. Manuscripts and Archives) may have their own policies concerning access by young people. Please inquire at individual libraries and departments for details.
Photographing or Filming in Library Buildings
The Yale University Library works in cooperation with Yale’s Office of Public Affairs and Communications (OPAC) on non-commercial requests for filming and photography in library spaces.
For commercial requests, please visit the Office of Marketing and Trademark Licensing for guidelines.
Filming or photography requests in any of the Yale libraries must first come through the Library’s Office of Communications and Administration. Please contact Andrew Gray (Andrew.email@example.com) explaining the reason for the request.
Non-Commercial Requests (News stories, documentaries, videos, etc.)
- Date and time of filming
- Location you wish to film
- How long the filming is expected to take
- What equipment will be brought (cameras, lighting, etc.)
- How many will be in your film crew (including actors, producers, etc.)
- Interviews you anticipate conducting on site
STEP 2: You will be asked to provide a Certiﬁcate of Insurance naming Yale University as additional insured for the day(s) of ﬁlming, load-in, and strike. This must also be e-mailed to Andrew Gray, copying Marjorie Lemmon (firstname.lastname@example.org) at the Office of Risk Management.
Please note that application and insurance forms must be submitted at least 48 hours prior to ﬁlming and/or load-in. Insurance coverage ranges from $1 to 5 million and is determined by the nature of the project.
If a film crew or photographer has less than $1 million in liability coverage then the requester can fill out an indemnity form. If filled out, this form should be send to the contacts above.
STEP 3: A Speakers Permission form will be required for any Yale faculty, administrator, staff, student who appears on film.
STEP 4: If application forms are approved, the Library staff will work with the photographer or filmmaker directly to set details of time, location, and logistics. The Library may specify when a photographing/filming project will take place in order to minimize disruption to library patrons. In most cases, a member of library staff or other designated Yale representative must accompany any photographers or film crews.
Use of Electrical Power
One of the requirements for any filming involving the use of electrical power for cameras and/or floodlights is that a University electrician must be in attendance to supervise the use of outlets and panel boards. If it is apparent to library staff that such an electrician is not present, filmmakers or photographers will not be allowed to proceed. For planning purposes, it takes one week to schedule the electrician.
Picture-taking by sightseers using hand-held, self-contained cameras is allowed as long as it does not interfere with the work of the libraries' users or staff.
Disruption/Privacy of Patrons
The privacy of patrons must not be violated. Photographers/filmmakers may not photograph/film readers and library staff without completing an application.
Food and Drink
Yale University Library's Food & Drink Policy is intended to preserve our library materials, computer equipment, and furnishings, and to maintain a pleasant and comfortable environment for our readers and staff. Your help in this effort is greatly appreciated.
Unless otherwise posted, non-alcoholic beverages in approved containers may be consumed in the library.
Approved containers include:
- Spill-proof mugs with secure lids and a drinking hole that can be closed
- Sports bottles with a drinking spout that can be closed
- Water in capped plastic water bottles
Containers that are not considered acceptable include:
- Open cups or mugs
- Aluminum cans
- Glass bottles
- Paper or Styrofoam cups with or without lids
- Readers not complying with these policies will be asked to take the food or drink to a designated food area.
- Unattended food in a "no food allowed" area will be discarded as will unattended drink in unapproved containers.
Please dispose of all trash properly.
Designated Food Areas
|Library||Policy||Designated food area|
|Arts Library||No food||No area in building|
|Bass Library||Food and beverages allowed||All Bass Library space|
|Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript||No Food or beverages||No area in building|
|Center for Science and Social Science Information||Food and beverages allowed||All CSSSI space|
|Classics||No food||No area in building|
|Divinity||No food||Cafeteria, Common Room & Commuter Lounge|
|Geology||No food||No area in building|
|Law||No food||No area in building|
|Mathematics||No food||Lounge in Dunham Lab, 4th floor|
|Medical||No food||Beverages in any container allowed in lobby seating area only. Beverages in approved containers anywhere in library.|
|Sterling Memorial||No food; certain collections/areas may restrict beverages also||Selin Courtyard|
|Walpole||No Food or beverages||Timothy Root House, next to the Library|