Access to Collections and BorrowingUse of Library SpacesPatron RecordsUse of MaterialsPublisher Take-Down Notices
Aeon Users GroupBudget Management Forum (BMF)Catalog Policy and Documentation CommitteeCollection Steering CommitteeCouncil for Research Services and Collections (CRSC)Library Project Review Committee (LPRC)Diversity CommitteeFinding Aids Coordinating Committee (FACC)Joint Departmental Committee (JDC)Leadership ForumLibrary Executive Committee (LEC)Library Staff Appreciation and Recognition Committee (L-SARC)Library Staff Association (LiSA)Manuscript Cataloging CommitteePromotion Review CommitteeReference, Instruction, and Outreach (RIO)SACO Coordinating CommitteeSpecial Collections Steering CommitteeStanding Committee on Professional Awareness (SCOPA)Tag Tables & Templates Committee
This is the "Prizes" page of the "About the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

About the Library  

Last Updated: Sep 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/about Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Prizes Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Prizes Sponsored by the Library

Harvey M. Applebaum '59 Award

The Applebaum Award is conferred on a Yale College senior for an outstanding essay based on research done in the collections of the University Library's Government Documents & Information Center. The prize is an award of $500.

Manuscripts and Archives Diane Kaplan Memorial Senior Essay Prizes

Manuscripts and Archives offers two student prizes each year. One is awarded for an outstanding senior essay on Yale. The second is awarded for an outstanding senior essay based on research done in Manuscripts and Archives. Each student will receive a $500 cash prize, which will be presented at the student's residential college commencement ceremony. Essays from any department are eligible for consideration and students are invited to nominate themselves for these prizes.

Van Sinderen Book Collecting Prize

In order to encourage undergraduates to collect books, build their own libraries, and read for pleasure and education, the late Adrian Van Sinderen, class of 1910, endowed two prizes in 1957, one for seniors and one for sophomores. The Senior Prize is now $1,000, the Sophomore Prize $700. Prizes for Honorable Mention are occasionally awarded at the judges' discretion. The prize is administered by the Office of the Secretary and the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

Bollingen Prize for Poetry

Established by Paul Mellon in 1948 and administered by the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Bollingen Prize for Poetry has been a force in shaping contemporary American letters. The Bollingen Prize for Poetry is awarded every two years for the best volume of poetry published in those years or for a poet's lifetime achievement in his or her art. Applications for the prize are not considered.

Beinecke Library Prize in Early Modern European Studies

The Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library offers an annual prize of $200 to the Yale undergraduate senior essay which best makes use of primary sources in the Library's holdings of British and European printed and manuscript materials from 1500–1800. Essayists who have drawn on Beinecke early modern British and European resources in their projects are encouraged to submit their essays for consideration. For more information contact Kathryn James, Assistant Curator for Early Modern Books and Manuscripts, at kathryn.james@yale.edu.

The Library Map Prize

Established in 1949 with an endowment from Mrs. Arthur W. Butler of New York City, the prize is offered annually to the student who makes the best use of maps in his/her Senior Essay or its equivalent. To enter your Senior Essay for consideration, simply submit a printed hardcopy to the Map Department Head, Abraham Parrish.

Howard R. Lamar Prize

William P. MacKinnon, B.A. 1960, and Richard A. MacKinnon, B.A. 1960, established this prize to honor a Yale professor who greatly influenced them. It is awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay on a topic in the history or culture of the North American West. For further information, contact the Curator of Western Americana, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

Walter McClintock Prize

Named for Walter McClintock, B.A. 1891, Curator of the McClintock Indian Collection in the University Library 1934-49. To be awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay on a topic in the history or culture of the North American West. For further information, contact the Curator of Western Americana, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

David M. Potter Prize

William P. MacKinnon, B.A. 1960, and Richard A. MacKinnon, B.A. 1960, established this prize to honor a Yale professor who greatly influenced them. It is awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay on a topic in American history or culture. For further information, For further information, contact the Curator of Western Americana, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

Lohmann Prizes for Excellence in Undergraduate Printing and Design

The Lohmann Prizes aim to recognize and celebrate the broad range of interest in planning, craft, and invention that gives undergraduate design and printing at Yale its singular character. The judges are eager to see printed work of all kinds in order to reward skill, discipline, and imagination. See www.yale.edu/printer/lohmann for more information.

 

Get Help Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Help is available Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Emal Email: askyale@gmail.com

Call Call: (203) 432-1775

SMS text Text: (203) 826-2053

 Tweet:  @askyale

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip