Related Guides
Caribbean Collections at the Yale University Library
- Last Updated Sep 26, 2011
A guide to collections that support research in the study of the Atlantic world, Caribbean, and related transnational studies.
- Last Updated Sep 26, 2011
A guide to collections that support research in the study of the Atlantic world, Caribbean, and related transnational studies.
Colonial American History
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
A list of primary source databases for the study of Colonial America
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
A list of primary source databases for the study of Colonial America
Nineteenth Century America
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
A list of primary source databases for the study of 19th century America.
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
A list of primary source databases for the study of 19th century America.
Twentieth Century America
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
A list of primary source databases for the study of 20th century America
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
A list of primary source databases for the study of 20th century America
U.S. History and American Studies
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
A guide for conducting U.S. History and American Studies research at the Yale University Library.
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
A guide for conducting U.S. History and American Studies research at the Yale University Library.
Comments (0)
Welcome and Description
- This guide is intended to facilitate primary-source research in African American history. Yale has extensive opportunities for the study of African American history, both in terms of the primary sources found in the university's own collections and through subscriptions to external sources. Although by no means a comprehensive list of sources at Yale, this guide assembles selected documents and collections that may be of particular interest to students and researchers working on a wide range of issues in African American history.
- Because African American history is such a multifaceted phenomenon, I have chosen two organizational strategies: the first is a simple chronology providing material for researchers working on a distinct time period or century. These guides are found under the tabs named, for instance, "19th Century." The second organizational method is a series of theme-based resources for particular aspects of African American history (e.g., literary history, political activism, slavery, etc.), designed for researchers who are taking a more thematic approach to their project.
- I hope that this guide will function as a good starting point for scholars working within African American history as well as African American Studies, and all the nebulous ground in between.
- Just click on the tab that meets your research goals!
Kaplanoff Librarian for American History and British and Commonwealth History |
Contact Info I am happy to help members of the Yale community with their history related research. I am located in SML 226 and am available by appointment. Send Email |


Loading...
