This is the "Home" page of the "African-American Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African-American Religion  

Last Updated: May 16, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/african-american_religions Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Easter Procession at a black church in Chicago, 1941

Library of Congress

 

Recent Publications

Cover Art
The Cross and the Lynching Tree - James H. Cone
Call Number: Div BR563.N4 C648X 2011
ISBN: 9781570759376
A landmark in the conversation about race and religion in America.

Cover Art
Through the Storm, Through the Night - Paul Harvey
Call Number: Div BR563.N4 H3783X 2011
ISBN: 9780742564732
Paul Harvey illustrates how black Christian traditions provided theological, institutional, and personal strategies for cultural survival during bondage and into an era of partial freedom. The book also covers internal cultural, gendered, and class divisions in churches that attracted congregants of widely disparate educational levels, incomes, and worship styles.

Cover Art
The Black Megachurch - Tamelyn N. Tucker-Worgs
Call Number: BR563.N4 T83X 2011
ISBN: 9781932792744
An explosion of flourishing black megachurches has changed the landscape of American religious life. Boasting memberships into the tens of thousands and meeting within both adorned walls and refurbished warehouse buildings, these contemporary fruits of the Civil Rights Movement hold many of the resources necessary to address America's contemporary social disparities.

 

Introduction

Welcome to the LibGuide for African-American Religion!  The purpose of this guide is to support research by students in Yale Divinity School's concentration in Black Religion in the African Diaspora and others doing research in the history of African American religious traditions and theology. 

This is a selective guide to resources which are annotated so as to provide an idea of their usefulness.  They are organized into six categories.  Within each category, they are roughly sorted in order of coverage, from general to specific.

Encyclopedias are useful for exploratory research on particular topics.  In most cases the entries in the encyclopedias represented here include a selected bibliopgrahy for further reading.

Anthologies of primary sources and critical essays on particular topics in African-American religion.

Bibliographies of sources, both primary and secondary, books and articles as well as archival materials, on African-American religion or selected topics.  Note that these become obsolete immediately upon publication, but they can still be useful, particularly for historical research.

Websites with freely accessible resources about African-American religion.

Journals include periodicals dedicated to topics in Black Religion, as well as more general publications on African-American studies that include some articles and book reviews about religion.

Databases are available to Yale-affiliated users.  While ATLA and other religion databases may be your usual first stop for research on religion, there are other online indexes that may be more useful for research in African-American religion.

Hyperlinks and/or library locations are provided for each item.  When an item is availale in the Divinity Library, that location is listed first; however, some resources are only available online or at Bass or Sterlining Memorial (SML) Libraries on Yale's main campus.

The Yale Divinity Library would like to thank Juliet Crawford Schwab, a library science student at Syracuse University, who contributed much of the content of this libguide. 

This is a work in progress, so please feel free to contribute your feedback!

Yale Divinity Library

Profile Image
Suzanne Estelle-Holmer, Reference & Instructional Services Librarian
Contact Info
Yale Divinity Library
409 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06511
L-203
432-6374
Send Email
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip