This is the "About" page of the "Bookplates at Yale" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide presents an overview of bookplates and the Yale Bookplate Collection.
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/bookplates Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Item

Bookplate of Yale University Library by William Fowler Hopson, 1901.

William Fowler Hopson’s 1901 bookplate in commemoration of Yale’s bicentennial is a clever amalgam of the classic “book-pile” motif with a reference to the gifts of books that marked the founding of the college.
 
Bookplate of Yale University Library by W. F. Hopson, 1901. Pearson-Lowenhaupt Collection of American and English Bookplates, Call # BKP 30.

 

About This Guide

This guide presents an overview of bookplates and the Yale Bookplate Collection. In addition, it presents different search strategies for identifying bookplate materials and suggests several themes by which to explore these collections. It also lists exhibitions that feature materials from the Yale Bookplate Collection.

 

About Bookplates

Bookplates, also known as ex-libris, are labels pasted inside the front covers of books to indicate ownership. The custom of affixing bookplates to books began in the mid-15th century. Though earlier manuscripts also bore marks of ownership, the proliferation of printed books in Europe created a need to distinguish among multiple copies of the same title.

Particularly in the late 19th and early 20th century, bookplates were prized for their aesthetic value as miniature prints. With no intention of affixing them to books, individuals began to commission bookplates solely as a means to collect, organize, exhibit, and exchange them as works of art.

 

About the Yale Bookplate Collection

With an estimated one million individual specimens, dating from the 15th to the 21st century, the Yale Bookplate Collection is one of the largest such collections in the world. In addition to bookplates, the collection includes a variety of archival and published materials. Examples of the types of bookplate-related primary sources available for research and study include:

  • Original sketches
  • Process materials
  • Correspondence
  • Scrapbooks
  • Reference works
  • Printed ephemera

Bookplates are not only miniature works of art but microcosms of many different histories. These objects may be examined and interpreted through lenses such as:

  • Biography
  • Printmaking
  • History of the book
  • History of reading
  • History of art and design
  • History of collecting

Special Collections Librarian

Profile Image
Molly E. Dotson
Contact Info
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
180 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
203-432-7074
Send Email
 

Arts Library Hours

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip