Skip to main content
Banner Image

English 114 - A Research Guide: Home

These pages are designed to assist students enrolled in English 114 in using the Yale University Library, and in finding materials for class assignments. The pages complement the English 114 library orientation sessions offered during the Fall semester.

Graphic

Library Front Door

The Yale University Library Front Door is the primary gateway to all of the Library's electronic resources, as well as to information about its rich print and manuscript collections. Connect to Orbis (Yale's online catalog), as well as to many databases, subject guides and online library services. For a complete review, see the Library Web Site Guide.

QUICK LINKS:
What's here: Links to the Web forms for the Library's most popular services.
What can you do here? Renew, recall, or page a book; request a book from another Yale library (Eli Express) or from a non-Yale library (Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan); request that the Library purchase a title; ask a reference question or research question; or view your borrower account information.

RESEARCH TOOLS:

  • ORBIS OR YUFIND SEARCH:
    What's here: All the various components that make up Yale's online catalog, including Orbis, Morris (Law Library materials), the Center for Research Libraries catalog, and information on how to use these catalogs.
    What can you do here? Search for materials held in the Yale Library system, including books, journal titles, maps, scores, recordings, visual materials, government documents, and manuscripts and archival material.
  • FIND DATABASES and FIND ARTICLES:
    What's here: Access to research databases for journal articles and other information; lists of databases by subject can also be found here.
    What can you do here? Find citations for articles, full-text articles online, and other types of online reference resources, such as encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, and directories. Find out how to use the proxy server to configure your computer to access Yale databases from off campus.
  • ONLINE JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS:
    What's here:
    Direct links to electronic journals and newspapers that Yale either licenses or has free access to on the web.
    What can you do here?
    Locate and read journal articles and newspapers online.
  • SUBJECT GUIDES:
    What's here: Lists of electronic and printed reference tools by subject.
    What can you do here? Get started on your research, especially in subjects unfamiliar to you. Formulate a research strategy for a topic, and find useful links and references to both online and printed resources.

LIBRARIES & COLLECTIONS:

  • LIBRARIES & COLLECTIONS A-Z:
    What's here: Links to descriptions of individual Yale libraries and collections.
    What can you do here? Find out about the services and collections of each of Yale's libraries and many of its special collections.
  • SPECIAL COLLECTIONS:
    What's here: An overview of special collections at Yale repositories providing a glimpse of the wealth of materials available - manuscripts, clay tablets, prints, posters, maps, photographs, sound and video recordings, music scores, art works, coins, and other items of cultural and historical importance.
    What can you do here? Find information about the collections and events and exhibits related to these collections, and tips on accessing materials.
  • DIGITAL COLLECTIONS:
    What's here: A listing of Yale digital projects.
    What can you do here? Access databases, full-text documents, and image collections
  • LIBRARY LOCATIONS:
    What's here: Addresses, telephone numbers, and e-mail addresses of Yale's libraries, plus a map of library locations and travel directions to each library.
    What can you do here? Find out where individual libraries are and how to get in touch with them without going there in person.
  • HOURS:
    What's here: A list of the hours each Yale library is open.

LIBRARY SERVICES:

  • BORROWING AND CIRCULATION:
    What's here: Information about taking materials out of the library and about getting materials that are charged out to someone else or that shelve in another Yale library.
    What can you do here? Access your Borrower's Account information; renew, recall, or page a book; and request a book from another Yale library through Eli Express.
  • ASK YALE LIBRARY:
    What's here: Addresses, telephone numbers, e-mail addresses, and forms of the reference services sections of Yale's libraries.
    What can you do here? Find out where and when you can consult with a librarian about about research you're doing or a question you have, or send such an inquiry.
  • COURSE RESERVES:
    What's here: Lists of all materials on reserve for the current term in any Yale library, arranged by course number or instructor.
  • BORROW DIRECT and INTERLIBRARY LOAN:
    What's here: Forms for requesting material from non-Yale libraries.
    What can you do here? Request the delivery of specific books, articles, microfilm, or other materials from libraries throughout the world.
  • WORKSHOPS & RESEARCH EDUCATION:
    What's here: Schedules of research workshops and orientation tours offered and online guides and tutorials to help you identify resources and use them most effectively.
    What can you do here? Learn about workshops offered in your subject area or use a tutorial to learn more about searching specific resources.
  • YOUR LIBRARY ACCOUNT:
    What's here: Your personal library account.
    What can you do here? See what books you have checked out, pending, fines, and online bookbag of saved books.

ABOUT THE LIBRARY:

  • DEPARTMENTS AND STAFF:
    What's here: A list of all libraries and departments that constitute the Yale University Library.
    What can you do here? Find out the name of the library subject specialist in your area and the office location, telephone number, and e-mail address of all Library staff members
  • WORKING AT THE LIBRARY:
    What's here: Lists of all jobs currently available in the library system, an application form (for student positions), and information on current compensation levels.
  • ACCESS & USE:
    What's here: general information and selected policies related to the use of Yale University Library facilities and collections.
  • COMPUTERS IN THE LIBRARY:
    What's here: Information about the location of campus computer clusters, laptop network access, multi-language workstations, and workstations for persons with disabilities.
  • INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMS:
    What's here: Information about international programs at Yale.

ASK YALE LIBRARY: NEWS : IN FOCUS

  • What's here:
    Ask Yale lLibrary eference service
    Submit questions to reference staff live. Pass text messages back and forth. Browse web pages together.
  • What can you do here?
    Find links and information about live, e-mail, phone, and in person reference services at all Yale libraries.
  • News
    Current events at the library, with links to more news, events and exhibits.
  • What can you do here?
    Find links and information about live, e-mail, phone, and in person reference services at all Yale libraries.
  • In Focus
    Rotating announcements, messages, interesting facts and helpful research tips.
  • What can you do here?
    Find links and information about live, e-mail, phone, and in person reference services at all Yale libraries.

PAGE FOOTER:

  • SEARCH THIS SITE:
    What's here: A search engine for the Yale University Library Web pages.
    What can you do here? Enter keywords to find Yale Library web pages that relate to your topic. The search will find databases, subject guides, help, and tutorials -- it will not find items in Orbis. This search engine does NOT search the entire World Wide Web
  • CONTACT US:
    What's here: An online suggestion box.
  • YALEINFO
    What's here: a convenient starting point from which to access university links of general interest to students, faculty, and staff.
    What can you do here? Search the Yale Directory and locate information concerning Student & Community Life, Administration, Academics, Library, Computing and Technology, and Publications.
  • YALE UNIVERSITY What's here: a convenient starting point from which to access the general university links site.

 

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)