Skip to main content

Evidence-Based Clinical Practice Resources: Practice Guidelines

Practice Guideline Resources

Agency for Health Research Quality (AHRQ)
A good source for clinical practice guidelines from AHRQ and links to other guideline sites such as the U.S. Public Health Service.

Clinical Practice Guidelines Infobase
Guidelines in this collection were produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial, or territorial medical/health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. The database is searchable by category, title, or developer. Full text is available.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text
HSTAT includes searchable full text of the Agency for Health Care Practice and Research (AHCPR) clinical guidelines and evidence reports, National Institues of Health Consensus Development Statements, and U.S. Guide to Clinical Preventive Services. Also inlcuded are quick-reference guides for clinicians, and consumer brochures sponsored by various governmental agencies.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
This database is intended to make evidence-based clinical guidelines and related abstract, summary, and comparison materials widely available to health care professionals. NGC is operated by the U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services, the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP).

NIH Consensus Development Program
The Consensus Development Program (CDP) is an unbiased, independent, evidence-based assessment of complex medical issues and is conducted by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The program has operated since 1977. Each conference is jointly sponsored and administered by one or more Institutes or Centers (ICs) of NIH and by the Office of Medical Applications of Research (OMAR) in the Office of the Director of NIH. Depending on the topic, other Federal agencies with biomedical components may join in sponsoring a CDP conference. In conjunction with each conference, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) provides a systematic review of literature on the conference topic through one of its Evidence-Based Practice Centers.