Skip to main content
Banner Image

Book Art Resources: Home

A guide to selected research resources about book art.

Robert B. Haas Arts Library

reading room at Arts Library

Yale's Arts research library contains approximately 125,000 volumes on-site, including current issues of art and architecture journals, plus related rare and unique materials. Off-site, an additional 300,000+ books and periodicals are stored in the Library Shelving Facility for quick delivery to any Yale Library.

Library Hours

Introduction

This guide provides an introduction to basic resources, at the library and on the web, to start research in the book arts, with an emphasis on the scholarly study of contemporary artists' books.  This guide does not provide links to "how-to" information or individual practitioners in book art.

Databases

 Art & Architecture Source covers several journals that discuss book art including: Afterimage, Art on Paper, Bonefolder, Hand Papermaking, Journal of Artists' Books, and Letter Arts Review.

Vended resource. Based on a merger of databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, it includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. For complete list of indexed journals, click here.

Web sites

Associate Director for Special Collections & Public Programs, Arts Library

Jae Rossman
Contact:
The Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library, 180 York Street.

203.432.4439
Website / Blog Page