Skip to main content
Banner Image

Visual Resources: General Image Resources

The Yale University Visual Resources Collection's guide to digital image resources.

Images in FindIt and Arts Library Digital Collections

Image Source Note

Many of the images in the Visual Resources Digital Collections are scans from books, slides, or reproductions in our collection.  Information on the original resource can usually be found in the Source Note or Call Number field of the item record.  Please consult the original source for information on the image’s copyright.

Digital Collection Image Source

 

Rights, Reproductions, Permissions

The copyright of a work of art itself is distinct from any rights of the photograph or digital image depicting the work and may be held by individuals or entities other than the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library. Yale Library cannot grant permission to use images of works held in its collection where copyright is held by other entities. While use of such images may be possible under “fair use” or “fair dealing” provisions in the copyright laws of some jurisdictions, the Arts Library is unable to advise image users in making legal determinations.

If you believe that the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library is the rights holder (unique holdings or special collections), please contact us at art.library@yale.edu

 

Trending . . . Open Access Museum Images

 

With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. NGA Images offers more than 20,000 open access images.  Click here for recent additions.



For open access images in ARTstor's collection, see their Images for Academic Publishing (IAP) initiaitve



National Portrait Gallery, London

The National Portrait Gallery (London) provides downloads of a large range of images for academic and non-commercial projects through a new website facility. Over 53,000 low-resolution images will now be available free of charge to non-commercial users through a standard ‘Creative Commons’ licence and over 87,000 high-resolution images will also be available free of charge for academic use through the Gallery’s own licences.


Yale University Digital Collections

Resources marked with this symbol      indicate that ithe resource is only accessible either on campus or via VPN (Virtual Private Network) if you are off campus. All active Yale NetIDs are automatically authorized to use the VPN service.  Read more about VPN here.


Yale Visual Resources Collection   

The Visual Resources Collection is a digital library of over 370,000 images of global art and architecture. Faculty in the Arts and Humanities at Yale are welcomed to submit requests for new digital content. This site allows users to create groups of images, annotate them, add outside content to the groups as well as share them.

 

Yale University Digital Collections

The cross-collection search includes over 600,000 images in selected Library Digital Collections. For a listing of collections covered by the search, or for individual collection access, see the Advanced Search page. For a listing of all collections see Digital Collections by Name. Some of the collections are only available on campus or via VPN.  The site also includes a suite of teaching and learning tools, such as making a gallery/group of images and annotating it, available for patrons with a Yale NetID.

 

ARTstor  

ARTstor, an initiative of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, is a subscription-based digital image resource with more than 1,300,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. The ARTstor Web site offers a variety of tools for teaching support.

 

Yale University Art Gallery

Search the Gallery's image database of over 80,000 objects from the Gallery's comprehensive collections of world art from antiquity to the present.

 

Yale Center for British Art

Search across the Yale Center for British Art's online catalogue, currently representing over one hundred thousand records from the Center's collections.

 

Yale University Department of Classics   

The Classics Collection of digital images includes more than 6,000 images of excavations, site views, maps, site plans, elevations, and photos of all kinds of objects representing both high and low ancient material culture in the Classical world. Over the years, contibutions have come from teaching and research collections of the Classics Department; students, as well as faculty of the Departments of Classics, History, and History of Art. 

 

Yale University Library Arts of the Book Ephemera Collection

Arts of the Book Collection has a growing collection of ephemera documenting the world of contemporary book arts. As information about book artists and events can be difficult to find, making the materials available on the Internet will offer improved access to a wider group of readers.

 

Yale University Library Manuscripts and Archives

Manuscripts and Archives Digital Images Database (MADID) contains digital reproductions of photographs, posters, drawings, text documents, and other images taken from the research collections of Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library. The database continues to grow as patrons request the digitization of additional materials.

 

Yale University Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Digital Library

Search 250,000 digitized images of photographs, textual documents, illuminated manuscripts, maps, works of art, and books from the Beinecke's collections.