Skip to main content
Banner Image

Visual Resources: Medieval Studies

The Yale University Visual Resources Collection's guide to digital image resources.

Medieval Studies Image Resources

Amiens Cathedral Project

Rich visual documentation of Amiens Cathedral. Produced by  the Media Center for Art History at Columbia University under the direction of Prof. Stephen Murray.


Art History Resources on the Web: Early Medieval to Romanesque

Art History Resources on the Web: Gothic

A rich collection of Web-based resources covering all areas of Art History, developed and maintained by Prof. Christopher Witcombe.


Dumbarton Oaks | Byzantine Seals Online Catalogue

The Dumbarton Oaks online catalogue is an ongoing project to record the 17,000 Byzantine lead seals held by Dumbarton Oaks and publish them online. 


Dumbarton Oaks | Byzantine Digital Collections

Portions of their holdings have been digitized and made available through Harvard University Library’s Visual Information Access (VIA) system. Click on the links below to access these collections.


Carolingian Culture at the Monasteries of Reichenau and St. Gall

Explorations of surviving plans, documents, manuscripts and related materials from two important monasteries of early medieval Europe.


Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame

Full collection of images and descriptions of Chartres Cathedral from the University of Pittsburgh under the direction of Prof. Alison Stones. Includes more than 3,000 images including maps, plans, views, and architectural and stained glass details.


Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (Corpus of Medieval Stained Glass in Britain)

The Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (CVMA) is the international research project dedicated to recording medieval stained glass. In Great Britain, the CVMA is a British Academy Research Project, hosted by the Centre for Medieval Studies at the University of York.


Enluminures

Enluminures contained more than 80,000 text images and more than 4,000 images of medieval manuscripts from French repositories.


Index of Christian Art (Princeton University)

The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550.


International Center for Medieval Art

A rich selection of resources for medieval art complied and edited by members of this scholarly organization.


Mapping Gothic France

A wide variety of visual media collected and organized in a learning environment to document the evolution of Gothic architecture in France during the 12th and 13th centuries.  Produced under the auspices of the Media Center for Art History at Columbia University under the direction of Prof. Stephen Murray and Prof. Andrew Tallon.


Monuments Historique | French National Heritage Sites Resource

Search for images and information pertaining to buildings and monuments protected as national heritage sites in France.
 

Medieval Art and Architecture | France and England 

Wide ranging coverage of French and English medieval architecture, including diagrams and plans, developed unde the direction of Prof. Alison Stones and the Digital Research Library at the University of Pittsburgh.


Oxford University | Early Manuscripts

Over 80 medieval manuscripts in various repositories at Oxford University


Pitts Theology Library (Emory University)

The Digital Image Archive presents more than 42,000 images of biblical illustrations, portraits of religious leaders, printers' devices, engravings of church buildings, and other theological topics.  Many of the images in the archive are taken from the Kessler Reformation Collection, one of the library's premiere collections. It consists of over 3,500 titles that relate to the Protestant Reformation in Germany down to 1570. Although its focus is on Lutheran materials, it also includes works by other Protestants and by Catholics, as they entered into conversation with Luther and his followers.


Restoring Byzantium | The Kariye Camii in Istanbul and the Byzantine Insitute Restoration

Research and exhibition Web site for the 2004 exhibition at the Wallach Fine Arts Gallery, Department of Art History and Archaeology, Columbia University. Part of the Web site is devoted to an exploration of the Chora Monastery (Kariye Camii) in Istanbul with text by Prof. Robert Ousterhout accompanied by a full collection of QTVR movies of the interior of the building.


Romanesque Churches of the Bourbonnais

A wide variety of visual media collected and organized in a learning environment to document the evolution of Romanesque architecture in the Bourbonnais.  Produced under the auspices of the Media Center for Art History at Columbia University under the direction of Prof. Stephen Murray and Prof. Andrew Tallon.


Romanes

Comprehensive resource covering French Romanesque and Gothic architecture. Includes an active blog.


Vezelay | Benedictine Abbey of Sainte-Marie-Madeleine

Full collection of images and descriptions of Vezelay Abbey from the University of Pittsburgh under the direction of Prof. Alison Stones.


Vidimus

An online journal devoted to the study of medieval stained glass, issued montly starting in 2006.


Features

Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: Space, Time, Narrative.  This digital project, under the direction of Stephen Murray, Columbia University, and Andrew Tallon, Vassar College, employs groundbreaking technologies to capture the evolution of French Gothic architecture.


Saint-Martin-des-Champs, Paris, France
QTVR (Quick Time Virtual Reality) of medieval architecture

Bodleian Library, University of Oxford, Manuscripts and Early Printed Books