Skip to main content
Banner Image

Visual Resources: Medicine

The Yale University Visual Resources Collection's guide to digital image resources.

Medical Image Resources

Resources marked with this symbol    indicate that ithe resource is only accessible either on campus or via VPN (Virtual Private Network) if you are off campus. All active Yale NetIDs are automatically authorized to use the VPN service.  Read more about VPN here.

 

 

Yale Medical Library Digital Image Collections

The Cushing/Whitney Medical Digital Library is a growing collection of digital resources made available on the web. See the Medical Library's website and the Medical Historical Library for additional information and resources.

 

Yale Medical Library's Images for Teaching

Numerous collections from Yale and elsewhere to support teaching and learning in medicine.

 

Images.MD: Online Encyclopedia of Medical Images 

Medical images that cover the entire spectrum of clinical medicine, each accompanied by detailed text written by experts from Springer Images.

 


American Social Hygiene Posters

University of Minnesota collection of social hygiene posters from 1910-1970; search by year, topic, or browse by categories including family health, mental health, women, and more

 

AnatQuest Anatomic Images Online 

National Library of Medicine's image collection contains high resolution cryosectional (cross-sections and/or slices) color images of the human anatomy

 

Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

Browseable collection of over 1,000 endoscopic images; categories include esophagus, stomach, colon, and more

 

Brain Biodiversity Bank Atlases

Michigan State University online atlases of the brains of humans, sheep, dolphins, and more.

 

DermAtlas: Dermatology Image Atlas

Collection of over 10,000 dermatology images; search by term or browse by categories, diagnoses or body sites

 

Genome Image Gallery

Online collection of Genome Sciences images from the Department of Energy Human Genome Project; search by topic or browse by categories including Human Chromosome Gallery, Basic Genomics, and more

 

Harvard University | Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics 

Part of the Harvard Open Collections Project (OCP), this collection provides general background information on diseases and epidemics worldwide
Women Working 1800-1930 | Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics | Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930

 

Harvard’s Whole Brain Atlas

Online atlas of the human brain from Harvard Medicine; browse for a variety of images by normal brain or brain disease type.

 

MD Consult

Over 50,000 high-quality medical images from the renowned medical books on MD Consult.Images include photos, tables, graphs, and more. Choose Images from the search drop-down menu.

 

National Library of Medicine (NLM), Online Exhibitions & Digital Projects

The NLM's digital repository to provide access to and preservation of digital content not covered by PubMedCentral and the NIH CIT Videocast project.

 

NYPL Digital Gallery Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration

Contains images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented by manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.

 

U.S. National Library of Medicine Images from the History of Medicine

Photography, prints and graphic art from the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

 

Wellcome Library Medical Photos

Includes over 40, 000 contemporary and historical medical images from UK teaching hospitals and research institutes.

 

Compiled by Ian McDermott, Assistant Librarian at the Yale Center for British Art

Features

Arzneibuch, Germany, ca. 1675.  A monk performs an eye operation