What's Here

• General
• Applied ethics
• Business ethics
• Environmental ethics
• Medical ethics and bioethics

For legal ethics, see Society, Politics, Rights & Law.

For religious ethics, see Philosophy of Religion.

See also:

• University of San Diego's web guide to introductory ethics resources
• Four books, edited by Yale's Stephen Darwall, on major ethical theories: consequentialism, contractarianism, deontology, and virtue ethics.

Example Subject Headings

• Ethics
• Applied ethics
• Business ethics

General

Blackwell guide to ethical theory.  Ed. Hugh LaFollette.  Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2000.

SML (Philosophy Study Room), Divinity Library (Stacks), BJ1012 B536X 2000

A companion to ethics. Ed. Peter Singer. Oxford; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1991.

SML (Philosophy Study Room), Divinity Library (Stacks), BJ1012 C62 1991

Dictionary of ethics, theology and society. Ed. Paul Barry Clarke and Andrew Linzey. London; New York: Routledge, 1996.

SML Reference and Divinity Library, BJ63 D54 1996

Encyclopedia of ethics. Ed. Lawrence C. Becker and Charlotte B. Becker. 2nd. ed. New York: Routledge, 2001.

SML Reference, BJ63 E45X 2001

International encyclopedia of ethics. Ed. John K. Roth. London; Chicago: FD, 1995.

SML Reference and Divinity Library, BJ63 I58 1995

Normative ethics.  Shelly Kagan.  Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1998.

Bass (Stacks), SML (Philosophy Study Room), BJ1012 K244X 1998

Oxford handbook of ethical theory.  Ed. David Copp.  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.

SML (Philosophy Study Room), Divinity Library (Trowbridge), BJ1012 .C675X

Twenty-two chapters, the first twelve treating metaethics, the remainder addressing normative ethical theories.

The Oxford handbook of free will.  Ed. Robert Kane.  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.

SML (Stacks), BJ1461 F74X 2011

Philosophical ethics.  Stephen Darwall. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1997.

SML (Stacks), Divinity Library (Stacks), BJ1012 D33X 1998

Applied ethics

A companion to applied ethics.  Ed. R.G. Frey and Christopher Heath Wellman. Malden, MA; Oxford: Blackwell, 2003.

Bass (Stacks), SML (Philosophy Study Room), and Divinity Library (Stacks), BJ1031 .C585X

Ethics in practice: an anthology.  2nd ed. Ed. Hugh LaFollette. Malden; MA; Oxford: Blackwell, 2002.

Bass (Stacks),  BJ1031 .E854X 2002

Oxford handbook of practical ethics.  Ed. Hugh LaFollette. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.

Bass (Stacks), Divinity Library (Trowbridge), BJ1031 .O94 2003

Business ethics

The Blackwell guide to business ethics. Ed. Norman Bowie.  Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2001.

Divinity Library (Stacks), HF5387 .B554X 2002

A companion to business ethics.  Ed. Robert E. Frederick.  Malden, MA; Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.

SML (Philosophy Study Room), HF5387 C655X 1999

Oxford handbook of business ethics. Ed. George G. Brenkert and Tom L. Beauchamp. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010.

Divinity Library (Stacks), HF5387 .O95X 2010

Environmental ethics

Companion to environmental philosophy.  Ed. Dale Jamieson.  Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2000.

SML (Philosophy Study Room), GE40 C66X 2000

Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy.  Ed. J. Baird Callicott and Robert Frodeman. Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan Reference USA/Gale Cengage Learning, 2009.

SML Reference, GE42 .E533X 2009

Environmental Ethics. Ed. Robert Elliot.  New York; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1995.

SML (Stacks), GE42 E57X 1995

Medical ethics and bioethics

Bioethics.  Ed. John Harris.  Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001.

Bass (Stacks), QH332 B5172X 2001.

An anthology of essays by leading ethicists dealing with issues surrounding birth, death, professional ethics, and other topics.

Bioethics: an anthology. 2nd ed. Ed. Helga Kuhse and Peter Singer.   Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2006.

Medical Library, RZ24 B4582 2006.

Selected works by leading bioethicists intended to complement A companion to bioethics, below.

Blackwell guide to medical ethics.  Ed. Rosamond Rhodes et al. Oxford: Blackwell, 2006.

Online only.

A companion to bioethics. 2nd ed. Ed. Helga Kuhse and Peter Singer. Oxford; Malden, MA.: Blackwell Publishers, 2009.

Earlier edition available in print: SML (Starr, Philosophy Study Room), Divinity Library (Stacks), R724 C616X 1998

A companion to genethics. Ed. Justine Burley and John Harris. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2002.

SML (Philosophy Study Room), Divinity Library (Trowbridge), QH438.7 .C645X

Medical ethics: a very short introduction.  Tony Hope.  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Bass (Stacks), Medical Library (Stacks), R724 .H625X 2004

Oxford handbook of bioethics.  Ed. Bonnie Steinbock. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.

Divinity Library (Stacks), Medical Library (Stacks), QH332 .O94X 2007