Yale University Library Research Guides: Japan Studies: ARCH 3240 Spatial Concepts of Japan

Examples of Subject Headings

Discover books related to your topic, using simple terms like below as subject browse in Quicksearch, Orbis (for Japanese) and WorldCat. Narrow your search by subcategories and genres such as "History" or "periodicals".

Architecture, Domestic -- Japan.
Architecture -- Japan.

City planning -- Japan -- Tokyo.
Open spaces -- Japan -- Tokyo.
Urban renewal -- Japan.

Gardens, Japanese -- Japan.
Landscape gardening -- Japan.
Gardens -- Japan -- Designs.

Space in motion pictures.
Motion pictures and architecture.

Gutai Bijutsu Kyōkai.

Taniguchi Yoshio

terms for searching

J-E / E-J dictionary

Name of notable Japanese Architects

安藤忠雄 = Andō, Tadao
芦原義信= Ashinara, Yoshinobu
遠藤新 = Endō, Arata
藤井厚二 = Fujii, Kōji
藤森照信= Fujimori, Terunobu
藤本壮介= Fujimoto, Sou
原広司＝ Hara, Kōji
原浩司= Hara, Hiroshi
堀口捨己 = Horiguchi, Sutemi
磯崎新= Isozaki, Arata
伊藤忠太＝ Itō, Chūta
伊東豊雄= Itō, Toyoo
出江寛 = Izue, Hiroshi/Kan
蒲原重雄 = Kanbara, Shigeo
菊竹清訓 = Kikutake, Kiyonori
吉良森子= Kira, Moriko
隈研吾= Kuma, Kengo
久溜正道= Kuru, Masamichi
黒川紀章= Kurokawa, Kishō
槇文彦 = Maki, Fumihiko
前川國男= Maekawa, Kunio
本野精吾 = Motono, Seigo
村野藤吾 = Murano, Tōgo
野口勇 = イサム・ノグチ = Noguchi, Isamu
坂倉準三 = Sakakura, Junzō
佐野利器 = Sano, Toshiaki/Toshikata
重森三玲 = Shigemori, Mirei
篠原一男 = Shinohara, Kazuo
白井晟一 = Shirai, Seiichi
清家清 = Seike, Kiyoshi
妹島和世= Sejima, Kazuyo
高松伸 = Takamatsu, Shin
武田五一= Takeda, Goichi
谷口吉郎= Taniguchi, Yoshirō
谷口吉生= Taniguchi, Yoshio
丹下健三= Tange, Kenzō
辰野金吾= Tatsuno, Kingo
土浦亀城= Tsuchiura, Kameki
塚本由晴= Tsukamoto, Yoshiharu
上田篤= Ueda, Atsushi
内田祥三= Uchida, Shōzō/Yoshikazu
山田守＝ Yamada, Mamoru
山脇巌 + 道子 = Yaawaki, Iwao + Michiko
横河民輔= Yokokawa, Tamisuke

Terms

データ番号 = Data No.

作品名称 = Work Name/Work Title

建物用途 = Building Applications

建物所在 = Building Location

掲載誌 = Publication/Posted on

掲載年月 = Publication Date

設計者 = Designer/Architect

施工者 = Builder/Construction

竣工年月 = Completion Date

着工年月 = Construction Date

構造 = Structure

地上階数 = (Above) ground Floor

地下階数 = Underground Floor

能力 = Capacity/Ability

敷地面積 = Site Area

建築面積 = Building Area

延床面積 = Total Floor Area

外装 = Exterior

特徴 = Feature

備考= Remark

useful sites

References (dictionaries & encyclopedia)

JAANUS: Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System "This dictionary contains approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868)."
Oxford Bibliographies Online A large set of current, annotated bibliographies arranged into modules such as African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Music, Political Science, and Sociology. Each module offers numerous articles containing the annotations. Click the [+] after each entry to learn whether and where the item can be found in the Yale University Library.
Wiley Online Library Access to many reference, journal articles and online books including "A Companion to Japanese History" (2006), "The Handbook of Japanese Linguistics" (2001) and "A Companion to the Anthropology of Japan" (2008).

Journal article index & full text journals

Art and Architecture Source
Includes Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, Art Abstracts and Art and Architecture Complete.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This is the first place to look for articles related to Architecture. It also indexes journals like Shinkenchiku A + U: Architecture and Urbanism, rich with architects' drawings.
International bibliography of art
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains citation records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published in Western-languages from 1971 to the present.

Books and Dissertations
For books, see the "Examples of subject headings" box at upper right corner.

Quicksearch
A combined search of the library's books, journal articles, databases, and more. Powerful limit function to narrow searches for images, articles, and primary sources, etc.
WorldCat (FastSearch)
The world's largest library catalogs of libraries in the world. It includes various items like books, films, journals, manuscripts, and musical scores, etc. FirstSearch is the subscribed version which provides better search results, whereas Worldcat (https://www.worldcat.org/) provides citations for journal articles.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Provides full text of North American dissertations since 1997. Abstracts of earlier dissertations are also available.

Interviews

OnArchitecture
An online audiovisual database featuring 100 videos of building projects, and 50 interviews with contemporary architects. It is a global scale project produced by Chilean architects embedded in over 1000 architecture schools and reaches nearly 3 million architecture students throughout the world. OnArchitecture's video catalog includes interviews with prominent architects, records of their main works and installations, as well as interviews with the users of the spaces.

Images

ARTstor
Asian Historical Architecture
Over 14,000 images of Asian historical architecture from 732 sites in 20 countries.
Japanese Old Photographs of the Bakumatsu-Meiji Periods
To find photos specific to architecture, go to “category or keyword,” then check “architecture”
The Meiji and Taisho Eras in Photographs
Includes selected photographic materials in publications held by the National Diet Library, classified by period and area (Kansai and Tokyo). Bottom of Form.
Nippon in the world By the National Diet Library. Contains links to three online sources: 1. Scenic Memento of Japan includes images of scenes from the 17th to the beginning of the 20th century Japan (linked together by region, period, and selected topics). 2.The digital recreation of The Vienna International Exposition (held in the capital of Austria in 1873), the 1st international exposition in which the Japanese government officially participated. 3. The Modern Japanese Political History Materials holds various documents once owned by politicians in the 19th century. Items selected from these materials are electronically exhibited here, classified by period or theme.
MIT Visualizing Cultures
A number of photos from Meiji Period. Some include architectural constructions.
e-Museum
National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties National Museums, Japan. Several illustrations of architectural constructions with high definition images.
Japan Society
Can find some photos, articles and recent news related architecture in Japan by entering keywords in "Search" box.

Film

Yale Film Studies Research Guide: Articles
Lists many useful databases for film studies.
An illustrated guide to Japanese traditional architecture and everyday things Various things related to traditional Japanese architecture and everyday life are the focus of this illustrated guide. Interestingly, it is intended not only for English readers but also Japanese people who would like to be able to better explain certain things to people from outside their country. A huge number of items, objects, materials, structures, decorative elements, and so on that one encounters while visiting or living in Japan, but might be too obscure or specific to remember the names, or to even imagine from the term, are included in an accessible and very informative format. For each, the Japanese name, English name, and pronunciation are accompanied by an explanation.

JapanKnowledge
A large collection of language dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, and other Japanese reference works for Japanese-only searches of historical terms and figures. It includes abbreviate version of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan in English and full-text coverage of the Tōyō Bunko and Shūkan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist).

Other references

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Online Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan Online, but abbreviated version of Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan.
A Guide to Japanese architecture 436 small photographs of building with name of architects, locations, building area, total floor area. Featured buildings are mostly from 1960s to 1980s. Additional 40 historical temples, shrines and gardens, etc are also featured with descriptive text. Buildings are divided by prefectures as well as indexed by architects and functions of buildings. English.

Miscellaneous

Philosophy

Guide at Columbia

Great introductory essay on Japanese philosophy by Prof. Federio Marcon at Columbia. Most sources are in Japanese, but some English sources are listed.

Archives

ArchiveGrid

Union search for archives held in the world.

Art in General

Biographical dictionary of Japanese art / supervising editor, Yutaka Tazawa.

Under the categories of painting, prints, calligraphy, photography, graphic design, sculpture, tea ceremony, architecture, gardens, ceramics, swords, metalwork and textiles, over 800 Japanese art figures from Nara period to the end of 1970s are introduced. This book may be useful finding someone who is not very famous in the field. Although mainly Japanese books, the bibliographies of artists are listed at the end of book.

Ukiyo-e

Ukiyo-e Search

"The Ukiyo-e.org database and image similarity analysis engine, created by John Resig to aide researchers in the study of Japanese woodblock prints, was launched in December 2012. The database currently contains over 213,000 prints from 24 institutions and, as of September 2013, has received 3.4 million page views from 150,000 people."

Metabolism

Metaborizumu no mirai toshi = Metabolism, the city of the future (メタボリズムの未来都市)

Popular cultures

The otaku encyclopedia : an insider's guide to the subculture of cool Japan

There is a newer work by Galbraith "Otaku Spaces" which should be available to the library soon.

Fandom unbound : otaku culture in a connected world

Mechademia. 2, Networks of desire

Some of useful chapters: Kotani Mari (2007) "Doll Beauties and Cosplay", Toku Masami (2007) "Shojo Manga! Girls' Comics! A Mirror of Girls' Dreams", Theresa M. Winge (2006) "Costuming the Imagination: Origins of Anime and Manga Cosplay"

Isaac Gagné (2008) "Urban Princesses: Performance and "Women's Language" in Japan's Gothic/Lolita Subculture:." Journal of Linguistic Anthropology 18(1): 130-150

Anthropological science journal of the Anthropological Society of Nippon

Oxford Handbook of Japanese Philosophy
Individual articles publishing online in advance of print publication

Contact

Haruko Nakamura

Email Me

Contact:

Sterling Memorial Library
120 High Street, New Haven, CT
Room 213A

203-432-1792

Subjects: East Asian Studies

Research resources including science papers

Category 1 (architecture-theory/history, art, and literature, philosophy, and religion)

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Enormous scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database
Art and Architecture Source
Includes Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, Art Abstracts and Art and Architecture Complete.
Companion to Public Space (Routledge)
CAUSEWAY
Collaborative Architecture, Urbanism, and Sustainability Web Archive (CAUSEWAY)
Historical Abstracts
The primary resource to find resources on history. Covers scholarly literature published between 1955 and the present. Materials in many languages are indexed.
Routledge Companion to Spatial History
Includes a chapter describing the Mapping Inequality project, written by project team members (see ch. 23).
MLA Bibliography
Premier index for literary studies. Use for research on architecture in literature or literary approaches to public space.
Communications and Mass Media
Offers from journals in communication, mass media, and related fields
PhilPapers
An international, interactive academic database philosophy, maintained by the community of philosophers. including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics using trawling techniques and crowdsourcing.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
Includes more than 300 full-text journals in religion and philosophy dating back to 1975. Topics include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Database by ATLA (American Theological Library Association) index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion, 1949-present. Includes scholarly works on philosophy and ethics.

Category 2 (environmental science/engineering, architecture-planning)

Building Green
Resource devoted to green/sustainable architecture.
Environment Complete
Go-to database for almost anything related to the environment.
GreenFILE
More on the human impact on the environment. Some overlap with Environment Complete.

Category 3 (medical, neuroscience, cognitive science, environmental psychology)

PubMed@Yale
Large government database for biomedical citations to journal articles.

Category 4 (technology, sociology, etc.)

Web of Science
Database covering core journals in all science fields. Good for interdisciplinary topics. International. 1900-. Can be sorted by relevance and times cited and refine results to review articles. WoS includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index providing access to the journals Architectural History and Design, and a selection of humanities journals like Interdisciplinary Studies of Literature.
ACM Digital Library
Provides access to the full text to articles published by ACM, as well as bibliographic citations from publishers in computing.

Japan Studies: ARCH 3240 Spatial Concepts of Japan

Examples of Subject Headings

terms for searching