Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: Newspaper & Magazine Articles

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

Newspaper & Magazine Articles on Media and Popular Culture

What's Here

The Library has several sources for newspaper and magazine articles online -- and we also have microfilms and even print! Some material may never go online, because digitizing is expensive (especially good digitizing). This page lists a few valuable resources, but it's only the tip of the iceberg.

Newspaper & Magazine Databases

These are general newspaper and magazine sources; there aren't any databases specifically for newspapers and magazines on popular culture or the media, although you can limit to particular sources.

Academic Search

EBSCO Academic Search is a general database that includes scholarly articles as well as magazine and newspaper articles. Some popular magazines, like People and Entertainment Weekly, are included in the database.  See the list below for examples.

Factiva

Factiva contains nearly 8,000 newspaper and magazine (and a few scholarly) sources from 118 countries and 22 languages, and 120 continuously updated newswires and news broadcast transcripts.  Tricky to search but very rich.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic is a full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business and legal information.

Library PressDisplay

Online access to over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The library offers access to Library Press Display on four dedicated terminals in the Franke Periodical Reading Room on the first floor of Sterling Memorial Library. The library's subscription allows for a limited number of Yale users from outside the library, available on a first come, first serve basis.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega and Readers Guide Retrospective

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega and Readers' Guide Retrospective together offer comprehensive indexing and abstracting of some 375 of the most popular general interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada since 1890, plus the full text of over 120 of those periodicals from 1994 - present.

Selected Individual Newspapers & Magazines

Entertainment Weekly

EBSCOhost (from 1993)

New York Times

Newsweek

EBSCOhost (from1990)

ProQuest ABI Inform (from 1998)

People

EBSCOhost (from1990)

ProQuest ABI Inform (from 1992)

 

Time

EBSCOhost (from 1923)

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)