Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: Mass Media in General

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

Mass Media in General

What's Here

This page lists resources on the study of mass media in general. "Mass media" is understood as modern means of mass communication. For "media" as the news media (etc), see the Journalism section of this research guide.

On This Page:

See also:

Key Databases for Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier

This is a huge multi-subject database, including coverage of the mass media from a variety of perspectives.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

CMMC is an excellent database for articles on mass media, with a highly expansive range of subject headings.

FIAF International Index to Film/TV

Although mainly for film and television studies, FIAF also has some coverage of the media. Use the Film Index to search for articles. It uses the subject headings "mass communication" and "mass media."

Film & Television Literature Index

Like FIAF, FTLI is mainly for film and TV, but by going into Advanced Search, one can search search for articles on the media. It uses the same sorts of subject headings as Orbis.

Selected Subject Headings for Searching Orbis

Selected Guides, Handbooks, and Other Resources

A companion to media studies. Ed. Angharad N. Valdivia. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., c2003.

Print copy: LSF P91.25 .V35X 2003 (LC)

A handbook of media and communication research: qualitative and quantitative methodologies. Ed. Klaus Bruhn Jensen. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.

Bass Stacks, P91.3 .H34 2002

Media History Digital Library

Links and information on many types of communication media, from 25,000 BCE to the present.

The no-nonsense guide to global media. Peter Steven. Oxford: New Internationalist, 2010.

SML Stacks, P96.I5 S74 2010 (LC)

The Oxford handbook of film and media studies. Ed. Robert Kolker. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Bass Stacks, PN1994 .O93X 2008

The SAGE handbook of media studies. Editor-in-chief, John D. H. Downing. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, c2004.

SML Stacks, P90 .S18X 2004 (LC)

Terra Media

Terra Media is a UK-oriented site with four sections: Chronomedia (a timeline of developments in communications media); media themes and documents; quotations about the media, and British historical media statistics.

Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies

Links on media theory and history, journalism, TV, film, radio, comics, cyberculture, and more.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Selected Dictionaries and Encyclopedia

21st century communication : a reference handbook. Ed. William F. Eadie. Los Angeles: Sage, 2009.

SML Stacks, P90 .A14X 2009 (LC) Oversize

A/V A to Z: an encyclopedic dictionary of media, entertainment and other audiovisual terms. Richard W. Kroon. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2010.

SML Stacks, P87.5 .K76X 2010 (LC) Oversize

A dictionary of media and communication. Daniel Chandler, Rod Munday. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.

SML Stacks, P87.5 .C43X 2011 (LC)

A dictionary of media and communication studies. James Watson and Anne Hill. 8th ed. London; New York: Bloomsbury Academic, 2012.

SML Reference, P90 W38 2012

Dictionary of media studies. London: A & C Black, 2006.

SML Stacks, P87.5 D53 2006

Dictionary of multimedia. S.M.H. Collin. 3rd ed. London: Peter Collin Publishing Ltd., 2002 (Norwood, Mass.: Books24x7.com)

Encyclopaedia of mass communication. Edited by B.D. Usmani. Mumbai: Himalaya Books Pvt. Ltd., 2008.

Volume I

Volume II

Volume III

Volume IV

Encyclopaedia of mass media. Ed. M.A. Khan. Mumbai: Himalaya Books Pvt. Ltd., 2010.

Volume I

Volume II

Volume III

Encyclopedia of communication and information. Edited by Jorge Reina Schement. 3 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001

SML, Reference P87.5 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of communication theory. Stephen W. Littlejohn, Karen A. Foss, editors. Los Angeles: SAGE, c2009.

SML, Reference P87.5 .E496X 2009

Encyclopedia of international media and communications. Editor-in-chief, Donald H. Johnston. 4 vols. Amsterdam; Boston: Academic Press, 2003.

Print copy: SML Reference, P87.5 .E539 2003 (LC)+ Oversize

Encyclopedia of politics, the media, and popular culture. Brian Cogan and Tony Kelso. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood Press, 2009.

SML Reference, P95.82.U6 C62X 2009

Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics, media, and communications. Marcel Danesi. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2000.

SML, Reference P87.5 D36X 2000

History of the mass media in the United States: an encyclopedia. Edited by Margaret A. Blanchard. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.

SML, Reference P92 U5 +H55X 1998

The international encyclopedia of communication. Edited by Wolfgang Donsbach. Malden, MA: Wiley/Blackwell, 2008.

The media and communication dictionary: a guide for students, educators, and professionals. Sharon Kleinman. New York: Peter Lang, 2011.

SML Stacks, P87.5 .K64X 2011 (LC)

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)