Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: Alternative News Sources

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

Alternative News Sources

What's Here

 

This page lists some sources for independent news and journalism, i.e., free of influence by government or corporate interests and generally outside the "mainstream."

 

For resources about the alternative media, see the Special Type of Journalism page.

 

On This Page:

 


 

Databases

 

Alt-Press Watch

Alt-Press Watch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. As a current and retrospective collection, Alt-Press Watch provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media

Alternative Press Index Archive

The Alternative Press Index is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines

Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. The collection of articles, editorials, columns, and reviews provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History is a retrospective companion to Ethnic NewsWatch

 


 

Alternative News Sources

 

Alternative Press Center

The Alternative Press Center (APC) is a non-profit collective dedicated to providing access to and increasing public awareness of the alternative press. It creates the Alternative Press Index

AlterNet.org

"AlterNet is an award-winning news magazine and online community that creates original journalism and amplifies the best of hundreds of other independent media sources. AlterNet’s aim is to inspire action and advocacy on the environment, human rights and civil liberties, social justice, media, health care issues, and more." A project of the Independent Media Institute.

Deep Dish Television

"Since 1986, Deep Dish has been a laboratory for new, democratic and empowering ways to make and distribute video.... The network has produced and distributed over 300 hours of television series that challenge the suppression of awareness, the corruption of language, and the perversion of logic that characterizes so much of corporate media."

Dissent Magazine

"Dissent is a quarterly magazine of politics and culture edited by Michael Kazin and Michael Walzer. A magazine of the left, Dissent is also one of independent minds and strong opinions"

Free Republic

"The premier online gathering place for independent, grass-roots conservatism on the web."

Free Speech TV

"Free Speech TV is an independent, publicly-supported, non-profit TV multi-platform digital media pioneer. Using both television and the Internet, Free Speech TV inspires viewers to become civically engaged to build a more just, equitable, and sustainable society."

Independent Media Center (Indymedia: with branches in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, Italy, France, Israel, and elsewhere)

"Indymedia is a collective of independent media organizations and hundreds of journalists offering grassroots, non-corporate coverage. Indymedia is a democratic media outlet for the creation of radical, accurate, and passionate tellings of truth"

In These Times

"In These Times is a nonprofit and independent newsmagazine committed to political and economic democracy and opposed to the dominance of transnational corporations and the tyranny of marketplace values over human values."

OneWorld News

"We pioneer internet and mobile phone applications, which the world's poorest people can use to improve their life opportunities, and which help people everywhere understand global problems - and do something about them."

Pacifica Radio Network

"The Pacifica Foundation was founded in 1949 as a visionary alternative to commercialy-driven media. We pioneered listener-sponsored, community radio and have been a beacon for noncommercial, free media."

Paper Tiger Television

"Paper Tiger has been creating fun, funky, hard-hitting, investigative, compelling and truly alternative media since 1981! The programs produced at PTTV have inspired media-savvy community productions and activism around the world."

Progressive Review

"The Progressive Review began in 1964 with the Idler, a strong critic of the Johnson administration and the Vietnam War and a supporter of the civil rights movement." The full run is available at its website.

Red Pepper

Winner of the Utne Independent Press Award in 2011, "Red Pepper is a bi-monthly magazine and website of left politics and culture." It is based in the UK.

Townhall.com

"Townhall.com is the #1 conservative website. Townhall.com pulls together political commentary and analysis from over 100 leading columnists and opinion leaders, research from 100 partner organizations, conservative talk-radio and a community of millions of grassroots conservatives."

Utne Reader

"Utne Reader and Utne.com are digests of independent ideas and alternative culture. Not right, not left, but forward thinking. We're most interested in creating a conversation about everything from the environment to the economy, politics to pop culture."

 

 

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)