Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: Research on Journalism Generally

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

Journalism and the Press: General Research and Reference Tools

What's Here

This page focuses on general topics on journalism and reference resources for current information. The focus is on current issues and materials. For resources on the history and particular types of journalism, check other pages in this guide.

Selected Subject Headings for Searching Orbis

Example Subject Headings for Reference Works

Example Subject Headings for Research Topics

Selected Resources

Alt-Press Watch

Alt-Press Watch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. As a current and retrospective collection, Alt-Press Watch provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.

Alternative Press Index Archive

The Alternative Press Index is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

American Journalism Review (AJR)

Site includes some full-text articles, plus directories of newspapers, magazines, TV networks and their affiliates, wire services, media companies, organizations, media monitors, reporter tools, and more.

Bowker's news media directory. New Providence, N.J.: R.R. Bowker, c2003-.

SML Reference, Z6951 W67 (LC) Oversize (previous volumes in LSF)

Broadcasting & cable yearbook. New Providence, N.J.: R.R. Bowker, c1993-

SML Reference, HE8689 +B77 (previous volumes in SML stacks)

BUBL -- Journalism

Web directory with links to Internet resources.

Editor & Publisher

This is the authoritative weekly magazine covering the newspaper industry in North America. E&P Online offers daily headlines, in-depth features, and exclusive columnists. Much of the content is original to the Web site, though some print stories appear online as well. Only selected stories from the weekly print edition are available for free online.‚Äč

Journalism: a guide to the reference literature. Jo A. Cates. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2004.

SML Reference, Z6940 C38 2004

Journalism Resources on the Internet (University of Iowa)

Lists resources on journalism practice, media law, gender and race, Cyberjournalism, and more. Last updated 2009.

Newslink

Major directory of news media in print, television and radio, in the U.S. and worldwide.

Poynter.org

The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalism.

Television and cable factbook. Washington, D.C.: Television Digest, Inc., 1982- .

SML Reference, HD9999 T37 +T45 (previous volumes in stacks)

Two volumes per year. "Cable and Services" volume includes all data other than stations; "Stations" volume includes the American, Canadian, and international stations.

Television research: a directory of conceptual categories, topic suggestions, and selected sources. Compiled by Ronald L. Jacobson. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1995.

SML Stacks, PN1992.3 U5 J23X 1995

Understanding journalism: a guide to issues. John Wilson. London; New York: Routledge, 1996.

SML Stacks, LC PN4728 W55X 1996

World press encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide. Ed. Amanda C. Quick. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003.

This comprehensive survey of press and electronic media covers nearly 200 countries. Entries begin with an overview of the background, economic framework, and general characteristics of each country's press. Entries then cover the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism and much more.

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)