Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: Special Types of Journalism

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

Special Types of Journalism: Reference Resources

What's Here

Most newpapers and magazines are published by large corporations and are intended for a general audience -- although of course they may (or may not) have a particular political slant . This page will help you locate materials on the rest of the periodical press, whether independent of the mainstream media or directed toward a particular audience.

Selected Subject Headings for Searching Orbis

See also these pages:

The Alternative and Independent Press: Reference Resouces

Generally "alternative press" refers to politically progressive newspapers and magazines, but the phrase can include other types as well, including specific-interest publications. The resources below cover a fairly broad range of these materials. See also the secton below on the specific-interest press.

The alternative media handbook. Kate Coyer, Tony Dowmunt and Alan Fountain. London; New York: Routledge, 2007.

SML Stacks, P96.A44 C69X 2007 (LC)

Alternative Press Collection (University of Connecticut, Storrs)

The APC contains more than 7000 newspaper and magazine titles with approximately 200 on subscription, 5000 books and pamphlets, 1800 files of ephemera from activist organizations throughout the country, plus miscellaneous posters, broadsides, buttons, calendars, and manuscripts.

Alternative Press Index

A full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Alternative publications: a guide to directories, indexes, bibliographies, and other sources. Edited by Cathy Seitz Whitaker. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1990.

SML, Reference Z1033 L73 A45 1990

Association of Alternative Newsweeklies

The AAN is a diverse group of 125 non-daily alternative free-circulation papers that are distributed in all of the major metropolitan areas of North America.

Encyclopedia of social movement media. John D. H. Downing, editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, Inc., c2011.

SML Stacks, P96.A44 E53X 2011 (LC) Oversize

Project Censored guide to independent media and activism. Ed. Peter Phillips and Project Censored. New York: Seven Stories Press, c2003.

SML Stacks, P96.A442 U6 2003 (LC)

The Specific-interest Press (selected): Reference Resouces

By "specific-interest press" I'm referring to publications meant for a particular audience (ethnically, religiously, politically, etc.). The following list is meant to suggest possibilities and is by no means exhaustive.

American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicals. Daniel F. Littlefield and James W. Parins. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984-

SML, Reference PN4883 L57 1984

American women's magazines : an annotated historical guide. Nancy K. Humphreys. New York: Garland, 1989

SML Reference, Z6944 W6 H85 1989

Black journals of the United States: historical guides to the world's periodicals and newspapers. Walter C. Daniel. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1982.

SML, Reference PN4882.5 D36

Encyclopedic directory of ethnic newspapers and periodicals in the United States. Lubomyr Roman Wynar and Anna T. Wynar. 2d ed. Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1976.

SML, Reference Z6944 E8 W85 1976

The Ethnic press in the United States: a historical analysis and handbook. Edited by Sally M. Miller. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.

SML, Reference PN4882 E84 1987

The Harris guide, 2003: the directory of the world's gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender press. Ed. Paul Harris. New York: Upstart Press, c2002.

SML Reference, HQ76.9 .H367 2003

History and annotated bibliography of American religious periodicals and newspapers established from 1730 through 1830. Gaylord P. Albaugh. With library locations and microform sources. Worcester: American Antiquarian Society, 1994.

SML, Reference PN4888 R4 +A43 1994.

DIVINITY, Reference PN4888 R4 A43 1994

The immigrant labor press in North America, 1840s-1970s: an annotated bibliography. Dirk Hoerder and Christiane Harzig. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.

SML, Reference Z6953.5 A1 H63 1987

Outposts. Russell Kick. 1st ed. New York: Carroll & Graf Publishers, 1995.

SML, Reference Z7165 U5 +K527X 1995

Psychotropedia: a guide to publications on the periphery. Russell Kick. Manchester: Critical Vision, 1998.

SML, Reference Z6944 U5 K54 1998

Progressive periodicals directory. 2nd ed. Nashville, TN: Progressive Education, c1989.

SML, Reference Z1033 U58 +P76 1989

Religious periodicals directory. G. P. Cornish. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1986.

SML, Reference Z7753 +C75 1986

Religious periodicals of the United States: academic and scholarly journals. Charles H. Lippy. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1986.

SML, Reference PN4888 R4 L5 1986

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)