Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: History of Journalism & Journalists

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

History of Journalism & Journalists

What's Here

On This Page

See also:

Selected Subject Headings for Searching Orbis

Selected Research Resources

American literary journalists, 1945-1995. First series. Edited by Arthur J. Kaul. Detroit: Gale Research, 1997.

SML, Reference PN451 +D53 185

American magazine journalists. Edited by Sam G. Riley. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1988-94.

  • 1741-1850: SML, Reference PN451 +D53 73
  • 1850-1900: SML, Reference PN451 +D53 79
  • 1900-1960: SML, Reference PN451 +D53 137

American newspaper journalists. Edited by Perry J. Ashley. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1985.

  • 1690-1872: SML, Reference PN451 +D53 43
  • 1873-1900: SML, Reference PN451 +D53 23
  • 1901-1925: SML, Reference PN451 +D53 25
  • 1926-1950: SML, Reference PN451 +D53 29

Biographical dictionary of American journalism. Edited by Joseph P. McKerns. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.

SML, Reference PN4871 B56 1989

Biographical dictionary of American newspaper columnists. Edited by Sam G. Riley. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995.

SML, Reference PN4871 B57X 1995

Encyclopedia of American journalism. Ed. Stephen L. Vaughn. New York: Routledge, c2008

SML Stacks, PN4855 .E53X 2008 Oversize

The Encyclopedia of the British press, 1422-1992. Edited by Dennis Griffiths. New York, NY: St. Martin's Press, 1992.

SML Reference, PN5114 E53X 1992

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century journalists. William H. Taft. New York: Garland, 1986.

SML Reference, PN4871 T34 1986

Guide to sources in American journalism history. Lucy Shelton Caswell. Edited and compiled by Lucy Shelton Caswell. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.

SML, Reference Z6951 C35 1989

Historical dictionary of journalism. Ross Eaman. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2009

SML Stacks, PN4728 .E37X 2009

Literary journalism: a biographical dictionary of writers and editors. Edd Applegate. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 1996.

SML, Stacks, LC PN4820 A66X 1996

 

Untapped sources: America's newspaper archives and histories. Jon Vanden Heuvel. New York: Columbia University, 1991.

SML Stacks, Z6951 +V227 1991

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)