Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: Blogs, Zines & E-Zines

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

Blogs, Zines and E-Zines

What's Here

 

Keeping a log of blogs is a slog, and if you try you'll need a knock on the nog (or at least lots of grog). But you can find books and other stuff about blogs, zines, fanzines, e-zines, and other little magazines.

 

Selected Subject Headings for Searching Orbis

 


 

Selected Reference Resources

 

Alternative publications: a guide to directories, indexes, bibliographies, and other sources. Edited by Cathy Seitz Whitaker. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1990.

SML, Reference Z1033 L73 A45 1990

 

Book of Zines

"The zine and e-zine resource guide." Includes how-to's, legal issues, distribution, interviews, history, events, directories, articles, and more.

Broken Pencil: The Magazine of Zine Culture and the Independent Arts

"Founded in 1995 and based in Toronto, Canada, Broken Pencil is a print magazine published four times a year. It is one of the few magazines in the world devoted exclusively to underground culture and the independent arts."

Comprehensive index to English-language little magazines, 1890-1970, series one. Marion Sader. Edited by Marion Sader. Millwood, N.Y.: Kraus-Thomson Organization, 1976.

SML, Reference Z6944 L5 S23

 

Directory of literary magazines. New York: The Council, 1984-

SML, Reference Z6513 C37 (last volume received was 2004)

 

The Directory of small press & magazine editors & publishers. Paradise, Calif.: Dustbooks, 1980-

LSF, Z282 D57 (Previous issues in SML stacks)

 

E-Zine Directory

Searchable directory of over 1700 ezines, with ratings and annotations..

International directory of little magazines & small presses. [Paradise, Calif., Dustbooks] 9th- ed.; 1973/74-

SML, Reference Z6944 L5 I58 (Previous issues in SML stacks)

 

The world of zines: a guide to the independent magazine revolution. Mike Gunderloy and Cari Goldberg Janice. New York, N.Y.: Penguin Books, 1992.

SML, Stacks, PN4836 +G86 1992 (LC)

 

Zine guide. Evanston, IL: Tail Spins, Inc.

LSF, Z286.Z54 Z5

 

Zine World

"Zine World is a source for reviews and information about zines, comics, self-published books, chapbooks, and other DIY stuff."

 

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)