Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: News Archives (Print, TV, Radio)

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

News Archives

What's Here

People often want to examine past news broadcasts and other forms of the news. These are very difficult to access, except for what's in the Vanderbilt archive (see below).

This page lists archives that only cover news in non-print media. For archives that cover news and other sorts of broadcasts (e.g., TV drama), or news in other formats, see one of these links:

British Pathe Newsreel Database

The online database contains nearly half a million records describing details from over 10,000 Newsreels & Cinemagazines produced by British Pathe between 1896 and 1970.

British Universities News On Screen Database

"Find out what made the news in the 20th century using our database of 180,000 cinemagazine & newsreel stories (1910-83) linked to production documents & films."

Gaumont Pathe Archive

French newsreel database.

Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting & Recorded Sound Division

One of the largest archives of television programming in the US.

National Archives Motion Picture, Sound, and Video Research Room (College Park, MD)

Hundreds of thousands of motion pictures and video materials are at the National Archives, with many in presidential libraries.

University of California News and Public Affairs Archive

Includes the Hearst Newsreels -- one of the largest newsreel collections in the world -- and coverage of events from national and local television news broadcasts and underground journalism.

University of South Carolina -- Moving Image Research Library

This archive houses many Fox Movietonews newsreels from September 1942 to August 1944, including many of prominent political figures and other historic figures. Some clips may be viewed online through streaming media, and video copies are available for purchase.

Vanderbilt University -- Television News Archive

The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news.

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)