Skip to main content
Banner Image

Media, Popular Culture, and Communication Rights Research Guide: Advertising, PR & Propaganda

Research strategies and resources on media, popular culture, journalism, copyright, digital society, and related topics.

Advertising, Public Relations & Propaganda

What's Here

On This Page:

Selected Subject Headings for Searching Orbis

For Advertising For Public Relations, Public Opinion and Propaganda NOTE: Most subject headings can add subheadings, such as country, Bibliography, Dictionaries, Economic aspects, Psychological aspects, Social aspects, and many other possibilities.

Selected Reference and Research Resources

About.com: Advertising

Adbusters (Adbusters Media Foundation, Vancouver, CA)

Adbusters is a global network of artists, activists, writers, pranksters, students, educators and entrepreneurs who want to advance the new social activist movement of the information age. It publishes Adbusters Magazine, which offers articles and commentary from around the world addressing issues ranging from genetically modified foods to media concentration.

The Advertising age encyclopedia of advertising. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003.

CSSSI Reference, HF5803 A38X 2003 (LC)+ Oversize

Dictionary of marketing and advertising. Jerry M. Rosenberg. New York: J. Wiley, c1995.

LSF, HF5415 R577X 1995 (LC)

Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns. Ed. Thomas Riggs. Detroit: Gale Group, 2000.

CSSSI Reference, HF5837 E53X 2000

The Encyclopedia of propaganda. Ed. Robert Cole; foreword by Philip M. Taylor. New York: Sharpe Reference, 1998.

SML, Reference HM263 E53 1998

Handbook of public relations. Robert L. Heath, editor; Gabriel Vasquez, contributing editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2001.

CSSSI Reference, HD59 H267X 2001

Historical dictionary of American propaganda. Martin Manning; with the assistance of Herbert Romerstein. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.

SML Stacks, E183.7 .M325X 2004 (LC)

Gallup Organization

"The Gallup Organization is a for-profit think-tank that has studied human nature and behavior for more than 70 years." Results of selected polls are publicly available at this site.

Media research index, 1950-1977: a listing of the major media research studies of the past three decades. Compiled by Newsweek. [New York: Newsweek?], 1978.

LSF, Z7164 M18 N48

National directory of corporate public affairs. Washington, D.C.: Columbia Books, 1983-

CSSSI Reference, HD60.5 U5 +N27 (latest volume only: past volumes at Mudd)

O'Dwyer's directory of public relations firms. New York, N.Y.: J.R. O'Dwyer Co. 1977-

SML Stacks, HM263 +O37 (LC) (latest volume in reference)

CSSSI Reference, HM263 +O37 (2010 volume only: past volumes at Mudd)

Propaganda and mass persuasion: a historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present. Nicholas J. Cull, David Culbert, David Welch. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2003.

SML Stacks, HM1231 .C85X 2003

The SAGE handbook of political advertising. Ed. Lynda Lee Kaid, Christina Holtz-Bacha. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, c2006.

CSSSI, JF2112.A4 S24X 2006 (LC)

Statistical fact book. New York, NY: Direct Marketing Association, 1988-

CSSSI Reference, HF5145.126 F33X

Current information about direct marketing and direct response advertising.

Yahoo: Marketing and AdvertisingTelevision Commercials

University of Iowa, Dept. of Communcations: Advertising Resources. Last updated 2009.

University of Texas, Department of Advertising

The Research Resources section has many links to the advertising world, bibliographies, a dictionary, legal and ethical information, quotations, articles and more. There is also an archive of outdoor advertising from 1992 to the present.

Washington State University Advertising Links

This research guide has sections with links for Internet databases, online articles, advertising and kids, historical advertising, and more.

Major Image Databases, Museums and Archives

NOTE: In addition to the archives below, there is a list of other repositories for advertising history research compiled by Duke University.

Ad*Access (Duke University)

The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Adflip

The world's largest archive of classic print and magazine ads.

Clipland TV Commercial Database

Television commercials from all over the world..

Edwin Diamond Political Audiovisual Collection (Syracuse University)

The Diamond collection of political advertisements, commercials, debates and other resources ranges from local through federal government levels. They also range from some of the earliest examples during the Eisenhower campaign to the first Clinton campaign in the early 1990s.

The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (Duke University)

The EAA site offers over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. A part of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History at Duke University.

John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History (Duke University)

Among the Hartman Center's collections are those for the J. Walter Thompson Co., D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B), outdoor advertising, and the online Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 database.

History of Advertising Trust Archive

The HAT Archive contains some two million items of British advertising, marketing, media, public relations and related material, together with a supporting library of books and periodicals. The oldest material is the archive of R.F. White (c.1800), the UK's first ad agency.

Julian P. Kanter Political Commercial Archive (University of Oklahoma)

The more than 66,000 commercials in the archive date back to 1936 for radio and to 1950 for television and represent candidates running for offices ranging from the U. S. Presidency to school boards throughout the United States. The archive also contains commercials by political action committees, advertisements sponsored by corporations and special interest groups on public issues, and commercials done for elections outside the United States.

Museum of Public Relations

Housed in New York, NY, it includes sections on Edward L. Bernays, Moss Kendrix, Carl R. Byoir, Arthur W. Page, and Chester Burger. There is also a reference library with an online bibliography.

Robert Opie Collection

The world's largest collection of British advertising images, with over 500,000 images. There are lists and thumbnails of images, but full images must be purchased. The list of links is useful for UK nostalgia.

Roper Institute for Public Opinion Research

The Roper Center exists to promote the intelligent, responsible and imaginative use of public opinion in addressing the problems faced by Americans and citizens of other nations. Poll and survey results can be found in Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: see under the Reference section.

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)