Scholars from various fields are investigating how digital technologies can benefit humanities scholarship.
Some of these resources are painfully out of date, but maybe they'll stir some imagination.
ACH is an international professional organization for people working in computer-aided research in literature and language studies, history, philosophy, and other humanities disciplines, and especially research involving the manipulation and analysis of textual materials.
Center for Digital Discourse and Culture (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)
Links, articles, bibliographies, and other resources.
Center for Digital Scholarship (Brown University)
The CDS has developed a variety of digital collections and projects, such as African-American sheet music and a collection of Napoleonic satirical prints. The CDS unites several digital humanities groups at Brown, including the Women Writers Project.
A companion to digital humanities. Edited by Susan Schreibman, Ray Siemens, and John Unsworth. Oxford: Blackwell Pub.: 2004.
Print edition: SML Stacks, AZ105 .C588X 2004
A research group composed of academics, artists, artisans, designers and writers, based at the University of Westminster in London, England. The link above is to articles and manifestos on cyberculture (most or all from before 2002).
Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (University of Virginia)
IATH provides scholars in the humanities with time, tools, and techniques to produce lasting contributions to the human record in electronic form.
Sections on debates, web site design, "rubbish," and more.
Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies (University of Washington)
The site contains a collection of scholarly resources, including university-level courses in cyberculture, events and conferences, an extensive annotated bibliography, and two full-length book reviews each month.
TEI is a consortium which collectively develops and maintains a standard for the representation of texts in digital form. It produses a set of guidelines for producing TEI texts in SGML or XML in a standardized, cross-platform manner, with intelligent or symantic markup.
"A TextArc is a visual represention of a text--the entire text (twice!) on a single page. Some funny combination of an index, concordance, and summary, it uses the viewer's eye to help uncover meaning." Includes Hamlet and Alice in Wonderland.
Voice of the Shuttle: Cyberculture
Includes links on cybercensorship, cyberethics, gender, cyperpunk, hypermedia, politics of the Net, journals, and other resources.