The Drama Collection at the Arts Library is a highly active collection that meets many designers' immediate needs, and often browsing the shelves is sufficient.
However, designers often need (or want) to explore beyong the typical resources. Play productions demand creativity and often knowledge of historical designs; looking at a wide variety of materials can inform and inspire the working designer. Hundreds of books on stage design and technology (including sets, costumes, lights, sound, makeup and props) are available at Sterling Memorial Library, Bass, the Yale Center for British Art (YCBA), even the Engineering Library -- and at LSF (the off-campus Library Shelving Facility). Books displaying designs for theater, dance, opera, outdoor environments, city streets and other locations can be almost anywhere.
To find Yale's many resources, you need to use Orbis. This page describes some techniques for locating them, along with selected reference materials.
See also Photos & Illustrations for more information on finding illustrations.
The following subject headings should give you an idea of the searches you can perform in Orbis in order to find materials. Notice that sometimes there are several headings for one broad topic.
A Bibliography of Theatre Technology: Acoustics and Sound, Lighting, Properties, and Scenery. John T. Howard. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1982.
Arts Library Reference, Z5784 S8 H68 1982 (LC)
Costumes and Settings for Staging Historical Plays. Jack Cassin-Scott. Boston: Plays, inc., 1979.
Arts Library Stacks, PN2067 +C34 1979 (LC)
v. 1. The Classical period.--v. 2.The Medieval period.--v. 3. The Elizabethan and Restoration period.--v. 4. The Georgian period.
An extensive portal to costume and costuming-related links, including sites on costume history as well as practical resources.
An enormous list of links to images, collections, and information about costumes through the ages. The manifesto itself is worthwhile reading for everyone involved in theater production, not just designers.
Documenting: Lighting Design. Performing arts resources 25 (2007).
Arts Library, Z6935 P47
Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion. Ed. Valerie Steele. Farmington Hills, MI : Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2005.
SML & Arts Library Stacks, GT507 E53 2005 (LC)+ Oversize
Encyclopedia of stage lighting. Jody Briggs. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2003.
Arts Library Stacks, PN2091.E4 B66 2003 (LC)
The historical encyclopedia of costumes. Albert Racinet. New York, N.Y : Facts on File, 1988.
SML Reference, GT510 R3313 1988
The Stagecraft mailing list is for the discussion of all aspects of stage work, such as costumes, lighting, props, scenery, sound and special effects, as well as company management, hall management, hall design, and show production. It has a searchable archive.
Theatrical costume, masks, make-up and wigs: a bibliography and iconography. Sidney Jowers and John Cavanagh. London; New York: Routledge; Romsey: Motley Press, 2000.
SML & Arts Library stacks, Z5691 J68X 2000 (LC)+ Oversize
Theatre and architecture - stage design - costume: a bibliographic guide in five languages (1970-2000). Véronique Lemaire. Bruxelles; New York: P.I.E. Peter Lang, c2006.
Arts Library Stacks, NA6821 .L46 2006 (LC)
The visual history of costume. Aileen Ribeiro and Valerie Cumming. London: Batsford, c1989.
YCBA Reference, GT510 R52 1989 (LC)
The worldwide history of dress. Patricia Rieff Anawalt. New York: Thames & Hudson, 2007.
Bass Stacks & YCBA Reference, GT511 .A53 2007 (LC)
Many Yale students are interested in making digital videos and online streaming media. Here are ways to find "how to" materials, as well as scholarly studies. For resources on filmmaking, see the Filmmaking page in the Film Studies Research Guide.
On This Page:
Yale also has handbooks and guides to using specific software, such as Flash, Maya, Final Cut, iMovie, etc.
The Center for Social Media has worked groups to develop codes of best practices in fair use for:
and also for various other activities, such as teaching. See the Copyright and Fair Use page for more infomation.
There is an excellent guide to finding free online media and similar materials here:
Dictionary of video and television technology. Keith Jack, Vladimir Tsatsulin. Amsterdam; Boston: Newnes Press, 2002.
Digital filmmaking 101: an essential guide to producing low-budget movies. Dale Newton and John Gaspard. Studio City, CA: Michael Wiese Productions, 2007.
SML Stacks, PN1995.9 P7 N47X 2007
The digital filmmaking handbook. Sonja Schenk, Ben Long. 4th ed. Boston, MA: Course Technology, 2012
Digital guerrilla video: a grassroots guide to the revolution. Avi Hoffer. San Francisco, Calif.: Miller Freeman Books; Berkeley, Calif.: Distributed to the book trade in the U.S. by Publishers Group West, c1999.
Bass Stacks, PN1992.94 H64 1999
The Experimental Television Center supports the creation of new work using electronic media technologies through residencies which provide space and time to artists for personal, self-directed creative work, along with funding and other administrative support.
The filmmaker's handbook: a comprehensive guide for the digital age. 3rd ed. Steven Ascher and Edward Pincus. New York, N.Y.: Plume, 2007.
SML, Reference TR850 P54X 2007
Professional web video: plan, produce, distribute, promote, and monetize quality video. Richard Harrington and Mark Weiser; with Rhed Pixel. Burlington, MA: Focal Press/Elsevier, c2011.
Video production handbook. 4th ed. Gerald Millerson, Jim Owens. Amsterdam; Boston: Elsevier; Burlington, Mass.: Focal Press, c2008. Norwood, Mass.: Books24x7.com.
Web video: making it great, getting it noticed. Jennie Bourne with Dave Burstein. Berkeley, Calif.: Peachpit Press, c2009.