National Institute of Japanese Literature 国文学研究資料館

Taikei honbun dētabēsu 大系本文データベース

The title refers to two taikeis: the Nihon koten bungaku taikei and the Hanashibon taikei.  This is really two separate databases, as the two collections cannot be searched simultaneously.  Both databases include the full text of all volumes (although annotations and other notes are not included) and can be used by individual works/volumes or across multiple works/volumes.  Unfortunately, users must agree to terms and conditions each time before proceeding to the search page.

Koji ruien dētabēsu 故事類苑データベース

Text database of the Koji ruien encyclopedia.  Some books are full-text searchable, others have been indexed by major terms.  Results link to the complete scanned original hosted by Nichibunken (see below).

Nihon bungaku denshi toshokan 日本文学電子図書館 (“Electronic Library of Japanese Literature”)

Full text of premodern works, uses editions that are fifty years or older and are no longer subject to copyright restrictions.

Nihon bungaku nado tekisuto fairu 日本文学等テキストファイル (“Japanese Literature and Other Text Files”)

Links to text files of Japanese literature from the premodern through modern periods.

University of Virginia Library Japanese Text Initiative

http://etext.virginia.edu/japanese/search/search.en.html

JapanKnowledge+ ジャパンナレッジ プラス

(See description in "Reference Works and Catalogs" section)

Edo meisho zue 江戸名所図会 (Illustrated Guide to the Famous Places of Edo)

Invaluable contemporary source (published 1834-1836) on sites of literary and poetic significance, famous shrines and temples, and the many districts that composed the city of Edo.  Includes full electronic text and images from original woodblock edition.

Shinpen Nihon bungaku zenshū 新編 日本古典文学全集 (Revised Anthology of Japanese Classical Literature)

Digitized version of the 88-volume set published by Shōgakkan.  Searchable by full text, but text cannot be selected in results (which display pages from the original volumes as images), unlike the NIJL taikei full-text databases.  However, also unlike the NIJL databases, the full commentary and scholarly apparatuses are included here.  The final six volumes are scheduled to be released in November, 2012.

Tōyō bunko 東洋文庫

Fully digitized (image and searchable text) of the Heibonsha series published between 1963 and 2002 including classics of Asian classical literature, history, and culture—including works in modern Japanese translation, with annotation, from premodern and early modern China, Japan, the Indian subcontinent, and the Arab world.  Includes 692 volumes at present.

Nichibunken (See description in "Reference Works and Catalogs" section)

Koji ruien 故事類苑

The Koji ruien encyclopedia (see also NIJL search function above). 

Kinsei kijin den 近世畸人伝 (正・続）(Biographies of Extraordinary Figures of Recent Times, series 1 & 2)

The complete digitized text of the original work (97 entries), searchable by figure (ordered by starting kana or by their original order of appearance in the work).

Heian Kyōto meisho zue dētabēsu 平安京都名所図会データベース

full text and images from original woodblock edition