Yale University Library Research Guides: Spanish Civil War (1936-1939): Films

Streaming Video

Kanopy Streaming Video Service
Thousands of films and documentaries - many newly released. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students. Offers a Netflix experience and the ability to make your own playlists.
Digitalia Film Library.
Digitalia film library is a international collection of streaming feature films and documentaries in the original language, some available dubbed into English or with English subtitles. Mostly films are from Spain or Latin America.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)
Provides access to thousands of video titles on the arts, humanities, science, and social sciences. The formats include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, all with accompanying transcripts. Collection highlights include: BBC, PBS, Sony Pictures Classics, Filmakers Library.
Digital Campus (Swank)
Includes films from major Hollywood studios as well as international features. Our subscription provides access to the top 1,000 most-requested videos on the platform. New titles are licensed for course reserves upon request by faculty via Canvas. Our subscription permits only individual research and classroom use. Public performances of any kind are not allowed.
Docuseek
Provides streaming access to documentary and social issue films and videos from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, Icarus Films, and National Film Board of Canada.
Films On Demand
A collection of streaming videos from a variety of producers including California Newsreel, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. Includes over 35,000 videos covering a wide range of topics organized by broad subject area, as well as feature films in the world cinema collection

Spanish Civil War Film Websites

Filmography--Spanish Civil War. This filmography was created to help teachers, scholars and cinephiles identify films that relate to the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939).

British Pathé

You can preview items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970, including items related to the Spanish Civil War. Just type in what you are looking for. Use Advanced Search Engine to hone down search further.

La guerra civil española en el cine

Antecedentes, contienda y consequencias en films de ficción y documentales.

El cine y la guerra civil española

Indice cronológico de títulos de películas durante la guerra civil española.

Cinema & the Spanish Civil War--AFI Silver

Cinema and The Spanish Civil War offers different views of the period and its consequences. There are documentaries and films that look directly at the war itself, as well as films that use the period as a backdrop to other stories. These have been produced in film cultures as diverse as Hollywood, Spain, France, UK and East Germany over a span of 70 years. Film series.

Harvard Film Archive

Franco, Fascists, and Freedom Fighters: The Spanish Civil War on Film. This past year marked the 70th anniversary of the military uprising which instigated the events of the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939). This film series looks back on the battles between the Franco-led Nationalists and the Popular Front as well as their lasting impact both within Spain and worldwide.

Socialist Review--Article about Cinema and the Spanish Civil War

In 1936 the world was submerged in deep economic crisis and mass unemployment, and fascism was already triumphant in Germany and Italy. The Spanish Civil War, which exploded that year in response to a right wing coup by General Franco, offered a chance to turn back the tide. Not only did armed working masses defeat the coup in most Spanish cities but in the regions of Catalonia and Aragon they took over the factories and land from the ruling class. Consequently the war, as the title of the BFI film season declares, stirred the world.

Documentos cinematográficos relacionados con la Guerra Civil Española (1936-1939)

Article. La guerra civil fue, sin duda, el acontecimiento más trágico de la Historia de España del siglo XX. Desde que, en 1976, la Filmoteca Española iniciara la apertura al público de sus fondos relacionados con este acontecimiento histórico, la demanda de acceso a estos materiales ha venido creciendo de manera lenta, pero continua.