Skip to main content
Banner Image

Harvey M. Applebaum Award: Past Applebaum Award Winners

2017 Applebaum Award

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Applebaum Award!

First Prize: Max L.B. Cook (Morse College, History) - "Influence and Effectiveness in the Years of Upheaval: Winston Lord and the Policy Planning Staff from 1973 to 1977"

Second Prize (tie): Jonathan C. Esty (Davenport College, History) - "Kissinger’s Strategy in the Iraqi Kurdish Rebellion of 1972-75: False Start or Foundation of American-Kurdish Partnership?"

Second prize (tie): Sarah D. Kim (Jonathan Edwards College, History) - "Of a Healthy Constitution: Socialized Medicine Between the Triumphs of Social Security and Medicare"

About Harvey M. Applebaum

Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959, is a senior counsel, specializing in international trade and antitrust law, with the Washington firm of Covington & Burling LLP and a lecturer at the University of Virginia School of Law. He is a past Chairman of the Association of Yale Alumni and the Yale Alumni Magazine board.


Past Winners of the Harvey M. Applebaum Award

2016 (first prize):Colleen Flynn, Timothy Dwight College
Treading the Path of Least Resistance: FDA's Regulation of the Subtherapeutic Use of Antibiotics in Animal Agriculture, 1970-2015

2016 (second prize, tie):Devon Geyelin, Trumbull College
The Re-Recruit: A Family History of American Media and the CIA in the First Decades of the Cold War

2016 (second prize, tie): Julie Lowenstein, Trumbull College
U.S. Foreign Policy and the Soviet-Afghan War: A Revisionist History


2015 (first prize): Anirudh Sivaram, Calhoun College.
The President’s Wartime Detention Authority: What History Teaches Us.


2015 (second prize): Anna "Nina" Russell, Timothy Dwight College.
Moving the Needle: How Transparency Could Lower Costs and Improve Quality in United States Hospitals.


2014: Nicole Hobbs, Ezra Stiles College.
The UN and the Congo Crisis of 1960.


2013: Tom Stanley-Becker, Calhoun College.
Strange Bedfellows: Business, Labor, Guest Workers, and Immigration Reform in the United States, 1986-2013.


2012 (first prize): Conor Crawford, Calhoun College.
"Missionaries of Ordered Liberty": U.S. Colonial Sponsorship of Self-Government in the Wake of the Spanish-American War, 1899-1904.

2012 (first prize): Christopher Lee, Branford College.
Cease or Persist? Gene Patents and the Clinical Diagnostics Dilemma.

2011: Alison Weiner, Davenport College.
Yielding to Reality: Examining the Rise of a Strong "Chief of Staff" in the Kennedy, Carter, and Clinton Administrations.

2011 (second prize): George Bogden, Silliman College.
Refugees, Statecraft, and Legitimacy: Forced Migration and Foreign Policy in the 1991 Kurdish Refugee Crisis.

2010: Habib Moody, Ezra Stiles College.
Estimating the Returns to Expenditures in Canadian Elections: Evidence from a Regression-Discontinuity Design.

2010 (second prize): Avi Kupfer, Pierson College.
“The Dictates of Sound Policy”: Contending with the Western Indians under the New American Constitution.

2009: Lauren Harrison, Ezra Stiles College.
Of Rice and Riots: The Effect of Food Price Increases on Political Stability in Sub-Saharan Africa.

2008: Stephen Fowler, Ezra Stiles College.
Crisis and Compromise: Carter Glass, Henry Steagall, and the Story of the Banking Act of 1933.

Prize Contact

Melanie Maksin
Center for Science and Social Science Information
219 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06520
Schedule a meeting with Melanie