Skip to main content
Banner Image

Near East Collection, Yale University Library: Getting Started with Research

Research guide for Islamic and Middle East Studies, and Arabic, Persian, and Turkish languages and literatures.

Library exhibit: "An American Orientalist: the Life & Legacy of Edward E. Salisbury (1814-1901)," open until 6 Feb. 2017!

Additional relevant subject guides

Yale subject librarians have prepared many other guides potentially of value to researchers in topics relating to the Middle East and Islam, including:

Major Resources

Search in Orbis or WorldCat for materials in Arabic and Persian by using the American Library Association/Library of Congress rules for transliteration:

The principal databases useful to researchers in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies are:

  • Index Islamicus -- Indexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, book chapters, and other collections in Western languages. Includes coverage of arts and humanities, history, and social sciences (including religious minorities in predominantly Muslim countries, and Muslim minorities in predominantly non-Muslim countries).
  • Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) -- Indexes research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Over 12,000 records of recently published & "grey" literature are added annually.
  • Brill Online Reference Works, including the first, second and third editions of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, Brockelmann Online, Encyclopaedia Islamica, and other important references.
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes an online concordance to the Quran, side-by-side comparisons of Quranic translations, and online primary sources on a variety of topics related to Islamic studies.
  • Encyclopedia Iranica -- The most extensive compendium ever conceived on the past and present culture of the people who speak an Iranian language and their contribution to the broader history of human civilization. It is the only precise and reliable reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
  • AMEEL -- Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library, containing 250,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts. Includes scholarly journals and gazettes in Arabic, Lane's Lexicon, al-Fīrūzābādī's dictionary al-Qāmūs al-muḥīṭ, a selection of important manuscript catalogs, and a selection of digitized manuscripts in Arabic and Persian from the collections of Yale University Library and the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) at the University of London.

Important interdisciplinary online resources available to researchers at Yale include:

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) -- A scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database for many of Yale's journal subscriptions, with indexing and abstracts for many more, covering nearly every area of academic study.
  • WorldCat -- A database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.
  • Google Scholar -- Searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives. If Yale has purchased full-text electronic access, a link to the full-text appears with the search result.
  • Discover Yale Digital Content -- Search 1.5 million records; 250K digital assets from across Yale's collections.

Librarian for Middle East Studies

Robin Dougherty
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library Room 333A
International Collections and Research Support

Mail:
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520-8240

Courier:
130 Wall Street
New Haven CT 06511
Website / Blog Page