Yale University Library Research Guides: Latin American & Caribbean Resources at Yale Library: U.S. & L.A. Government Documents

U.S. Government Documents

For more detailed information see the Yale's Government Documents & Information subject guide prepared by the Librarian for Government Information.

HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States
Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
HeinOnline
Contains many "libraries" of legal materials, including law journals, treaties, U.S. government information, and more. History behind laws and acts.
ProQuest Congressional
One of the best sources for U.S. government documents. Contains the Congressional Record and numerous hearings, reports and other documents from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1976-present)
The CGP is a finding tool for electronic and print publications from all branches of the federal government. It's a good way to find citations to documents that aren't in Yale's government documents collection, but could be requested through interlibrary loan.
more...less...
The CGP is a finding tool for electronic and print publications from all branches of the federal government. It's a good way to find citations to documents that aren't in Yale's government documents collection, but could be requested through interlibrary loan.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976
The Monthly Catalog is the predecessor of the CGP. This database acts as an index to historical government documents; while it doesn't include full text, it can help you find citations to documents that you can then search for in Orbis or other library catalogs.
more...less...
The Monthly Catalog is the predecessor of the CGP. This database acts as an index to historical government documents; while it doesn't include full text, it can help you find citations to documents that you can then search for in Orbis or other library catalogs.
FDsys
FDsys from the Government Printing Office contains the full text of key regulatory documents: the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the List of CFR Sections Affected, and the Unified Agenda. Use the "Featured Collections" sidebar to navigate to these publications, or perform a quick search to pull these sources (with the exception of the List of CFR Sections Affected) together. In the search box, include your keywords and category:"regulatory information" .
American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature
Guide to primary and secondary sources for the study of American foreign relations. Specific chapters on Latin America & the Caribbean

Latin American Government Documents

Latin American Government Archives (LAGDA)
(LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Capture of sites began on multiple dates in 2005 and 2006, and continues with regularly scheduled captures.
Brazilian Government Documents
Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available to the end of the first Republic in 1930. Provincial presidential reports, presidential messages, ministerial reports and Almanak Laemmert are included.

U.S. Dept. of State - Decimal Files

Yale University Library has hundreds of microfilms of Dept. of State communications concerning Latin America. They include instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials, notes between Department of State and foreign diplomatic and consular representatives in the U.S., memorandums prepared by officials of the department and correspondence with officials of other government departments and with private firms and persons from 1806-1963.

Please consult the Latin American Microform Collections guide for Yale Libraries. The guide is arranged by country.

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

NGO search engine

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Latin American & Caribbean Resources at Yale Library: U.S. & L.A. Government Documents

U.S. Government Documents

See also "Declassified Government Documents" in this guide.

For more detailed information see the Yale's Government Documents & Information subject guide prepared by the Librarian for Government Information.

Latin American Government Documents

U.S. Dept. of State - Decimal Files

IGO search engine

NGO search engine

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries