Skip to main content

Slavic, East European and Central Asian Libguide: Resources

English Language Resources for Slavic, East European and Central Asian Literature

Alternative scenarios for Central Europe : Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Hungary / Hans van Zon. Aldershot, Hants, England : Avebury ; Brookfield, Vt., USA : Ashgate Pub. Co., c1994. 118 p.
Location: SML, Stacks, LC HC244 Z592X 1994

Atlas of Eastern Europe in the twentieth century / Richard and Ben Crampton. London; New York : Routledge, 1996. 297 p.
Location: SML, Stacks, LC G2080 C7X 1996

The Baltic States : a reference book / Tallinn : Estonian Encyclopaedia Publishers; Riga : Latvian Encyclopaedia Publishers, 1991. 272 p.
Location: SML, Slavic Reading Room 406 DK502.4 B25 1991 (Non-Circulating)

Bibliographic guide to Soviet and East European studies: 1984 / Boston : G. K. Hall, 1985
Location: SML, Slavic Reading Room 406 Z2483 +B48 (Non-Circulating)

Carpatho-Rusyn studies: an annotated bibliography / Paul Robert Magocsi. New York: Garland, 1988-<1998>.
Location: SML, Stacks, LC Z2483 +M34 1988

Conflict in the former Yugoslavia : an encyclopedia / edited by John B. Allcock, Marko Milivojević, and John J. Horton; foreword by Martin Bell. Denver, Colo. : ABC-CLIO, c1998. 410 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm DR1232 F67X 1998 (Non-Circulating)

Designing political systems in East European transitions : a comparative study of Bulgaria, Czecho-Slovakia, and Hungary / Friedbert W. Rüb. Bremen : Zentrum für Europäische Rechtspolitik, [1993]. 68 p.
Location: SML, Stacks, LC JN96 A2 +R83 1993A

East Central Europe; a guide to basic publications / Paul L. Horecky, editor. Chicago, University of Chicago Press [1969]. 956 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2483 H67 1969 (Non-Circulating)

Eastern Europe : a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1986-1993 / Robert H. Burger and Helen F. Sullivan. Englewood, CO : Libraries Unlimited, c1995. 254p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2483 B89X 1995 (Non-Circulating)

Eastern Europe in the twentieth century and after / R.J. Crampton. 2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 1997. 526 p.
Location: CCL, Stacks DJK38 C736 1997

Estonia, Latvia, & Lithuania : country studies / edited by Walter R. Iwaskiw. Washington, D.C. : Federal Research Division, Library of Congress : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O. 1996. 304 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm DK502.35 E86X 1996 (Non-Circulating) 

Guide to the republics of the former Soviet Union / David T. Twining. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993. 213 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm DK293 T85X 1993 (Non-Circulating)

Guide to the study of the Soviet nationalities : non-Russian peoples of the USSR / Stephan M. Horak, editor ; contributors, Marjorie Mandelstam Balzer ... [et al.]. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1982. 265 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2517 E85 G84 (Non-Circulating)

Jewish documentary sources in Russia, Ukraine and Belarus : a preliminary list / edited by Dorit Sallis and Marek Web. New York : Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 1996. 164 p.
Location: SML, Judaic Studies Ref, Room 335B, Z6373 R9 J49X 1996 (Non-Circulating)

Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan : country studies / edited by Glenn E. Curtis. Washington, D.C. : Federal Research Division, Library of Congress : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O. 1997. 570 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm DK851 K34X 1997 (Non-Circulating) 

Miniature empires : a historical dictionary of the newly independent states / James Minahan. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1998. 340 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm D860 M55X 1998 (Non-Circulating)

Official publications of the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1945-1980 : a select annotated bibliography / edited by Gregory Walker. London : Mansell; Bronx, New York: Distributed in the U.S. and Canada by The H.W. Wilson Co., 1982. 620 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2499 O33 (Non-Circulating)

Russia and the former Soviet Union : a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1986-1991 / Helen F. Sullivan and Robert H. Burger. Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, Inc., c1994. 380 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2491 S89X 1994 (Non-Circulating)

Russia, the USSR, and Eastern Europe : a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1981-1985 / Stephan M. Horak. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1987. 273 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2483 H543 1987 (Non-Circulating)

Russia, the USSR, and Eastern Europe : a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1975-1980 / Stephan M. Horak. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1982. 279 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2483 H54 Suppl. (Non-Circulating)

Russia, the USSR, and Eastern Europe : a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1964-1974 / compiled by Stephan M. Horak ; edited by Rosemary Neiswender. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1978. 488 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2483 H54 (Non-Circulating)

A Scholars' guide to humanities and social sciences in the Soviet successor states : the Academies of Sciences of Russia, Armenia, Azerbaidzhan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kirghizstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Tadzhikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan / Institute of Scientific Information in the Social Sciences (INION), Russian Academy of Sciences[and] Kennan Institute for Advanced Russian Studies, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c1993. 228 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm AS258 S36 1993 (Non-Circulating)

Slavic studies : a guide to bibliographies, encyclopedias, and handbooks / compiled and edited by Murlin Croucher. Wilmington : Scholarly Resources, 1993. 2 v.
Location: SML, Slavic Reading Room 406, Z2483 +S554X 1993; SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2483 +S554X 1993 (Non-Circulating)

Soviet studies guide / edited by Tania Konn. London : Bowker-Saur, 1992. 237 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2491 S69 1992 (Non-Circulating)

Soviet Union : a country study / Raymond E. Zickel. Washington, DC : Federal Research Division, Library of Congress, 1991. 1068 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm DK17 S6396X 1991 (Non-Circulating) 

Who is who in the Baltic States : biographical dictionary / Riga : Pub. House of Valeri Belokon, 1998. 604 p.
Location: SML, Stacks, LC Check catalog for call number

Yugoslavia : a comprehensive English-language bibliography / compiled and edited by Francine Friedman. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources Inc., c1993. 547 p.
Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Rm Z2956 F75X 1993 (Non-Circulating)

Contact Us

All questions about use of the Slavic, East European & Central Asian Collection can be directed to Ellen Hammond, Interim Head of the Collection (ellen.hammond@yale.edu).