Looking for Malaria resources online? Try these!

-Malaria Atlas Project
The Malaria Atlas Project aims to disseminate free, accurate and up-to-date information on malaria and associated topics, organised on a geographical basis.
-MEDLINE/PubMed
MEDLINE® (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains over 16 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. PubMed  provides to MEDLINE and includes additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE.
-Malaria: Prevention and Therapy (Emphasis on Africa)
Bibliography from January 1993 through September 1997 on Malaria resources
-World Health Organization Online Publications
Archive of past World Health Organization reports throughout the 20th century.
-Centers for Disease Control and Prevention History of Malaria site
-Military & Government Collection
-Defense Technical Information Center
Serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.  Great reports on malaria in different countries through a military focus.
-The Global Health Chronicles
An assortment of early documents, photos, and other material on Malaria Control in War Areas, the forerunner of the CDC.
-Harvard's Contagion: Historical Views on Diseases and Epidemics
This site has a page dedicated to tropical diseases, especially malaria and yellow fever.
-Journal of the National Malaria Society
This journal, and other historical sources on malaria, can be through Internet Archive. Other societies focused on tropical medicine and malaria control from the early 1900s to 1951 include the American Academy of Tropical Medicine, the American Foundation for Tropical Medicine, the National Malaria Society, and the Society of Tropical Medicine.
-National Library of Medicine online collections-malaria
Videos, books, pamphlets and other journals on malaria
-Medical Heritage Library
Search the digitized holdings of major institutions, such as Yale, Harvard, Columbia, and more!

---------

From the 1940's to the 1960's, researchers at the University of Chicago did research on malaria under the sponsorship of the Army. This bibliography contains the major publications resulting from this research:

Bibliography of Papers from the Army Medical Research Project, University of Chicago

The experiments described in many of the articles in this bibliography took place at Stateville Penitentiary using inmates as subjects. This practice raised questions about the nature of informed consent and the regulation of human subjects research. The following is a short selection of readings focused on these questions:

James B. Jacobs. Stateville: The Penitentiary in Mass Society (Studies in Crime and Justice). University of Chicago Press, 1977

Prison malaria: Convicts expose themselves to disease so doctors can study it. (1945). Life Magazine, 4 June, 43-46. (Includes images.)

Comfort, Nathaniel. "The prisoner as model organism: malaria research at Stateville Penitentiary," Stud Hist Philos Biol Biomed Sci, 2009 September; 40(3): 190–203. (Published online 2009 August 4. doi: 10.1016/j.shpsc.2009.06.007) 
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2789481/

(See more at this Univesity of Chicago guide, under "Special Topics in Medical History")

Yale's Medical Historical Library has nearly 10,000 prints, posters and drawings, including nearly 3000 global health posters.  Contact Melissa Grafe, the guide author, for more information.

If you are interested in representations of malaria and anti-malaria campaigns, try these links:

• Yale's Medical Historical Library Digitized Posters Collection 

• National Library of Medicine Visual Culture and Public Health Posters

• Images from the National Library of Medicine
• Images from Wellcome Library Use the drop down box to select "Historical" to exclude modern images.