Skip to main content
Banner Image

Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources: Chicago Manual Examples

This guide gives an overview of how to cite Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources using various style manuals, such as Chicago, MLA and APA.

Books

Bibliography

Hao, Chunwen 郝春文. Tang houqi wudai Songchu Dunhuang sengni de shehui shenghuo 唐后期五代宋初敦煌僧尼的社会生活 [The social existence of monks and nuns in Dunhuang during the late Tang, Five Dynasties and early Song]. Beijing: Zhongguo shehui kexue chubanshe, 1998.

Abe, Yoshio 阿部善雄, and Hideo Kaneko 金子英生.  Saigo no "Nihonjin" : Asakawa Kan'Ichi no shōgai 最後の「日本人」 : 朝河貫一の生涯 [The last 'Japanese': Life of Kan'ichi Asakawa]. Tōkyō: Iwanami Shoten, 1983.

Kang, Ubang 姜友邦. Wŏnyung kwa chohwa:Han’guk kodae chogaksa ŭi wŏlli 圓融과調和 : 韓國古代彫刻史의原理 [Synthesis and harmony: Principle of the history of ancient Korean sculpture]. Seoul: Yŏrhwadang, 1990.

 

Footnote

Hao Chunwen 郝春文, Tang houqi wudai Songchu Dunhuang sengni de shehui shenghuo 唐后期五代宋初敦煌僧尼的社会生活 [The social existence of monks and nuns in Dunhuang during the late Tang, Five Dynasties and early Song] (Beijing: Zhongguo shehui kexue chubanshe, 1998), 123.

Abe Yoshio 阿部善雄, and Hideo Kaneko 金子英生, Saigo no "Nihonjin" : Asakawa Kan'Ichi no shōgai 最後の「日本人」 : 朝河貫一の生涯 [The last 'Japanese': Life of Kan'ichi Asakawa] ( Tōkyō: Iwanami Shoten, 1983), 55.

Kang Ubang 姜友邦, Wŏnyung kwa chohwa:Han’guk kodae chogaksa ŭi wŏlli 圓融과調和 : 韓國古代彫刻史의原理 [Synthesis and harmony: Principle of the history of ancient Korean sculpture] (Seoul: Yŏrhwadang, 1990), 190-197.

 

Journal Articles

Bibliography

Hua, Linfu 华林甫. “Qingdai yilai Sanxia diqu shuihan zaihai de chubu yanjiu” 清代以来三峡地区水旱灾害的初步研究 [A preliminary study of floods and droughts in the Three Gorges region since the Qing dynasty]. Zhongguo shehui kexue 中国社会科学 1 (1999): 168–79.

Kondō, Shigekazu 近藤成一.  " Yēru Daigaku Shozō Harima no Kuni Ōbe no Shō Kankei Monjo ni Tsuite" イェール大学所蔵播磨国大部庄関係文書について [On Harima no Kuni Ōbe no Shō Kankei Monjo at Yale University Collection]. Tokyō Daigaku Shiryō Hensanjo Kenkyū Kiyō 東京大学史料編纂所研究紀要 23 (2013) : 1-22.

Han, T’aesik 韓泰植. “Kyŏnghŭng ŭi saengae e kwanhan chae koch’al”  憬興 의  生涯 에 관한 재고찰 [Re-examination of the life of Kyŏnghŭng]. Pulgyo hakpo 佛敎學報 28 (1991): 187-213.  

 

Footnote

Hua Linfu 华林甫, “Qingdai yilai Sanxia diqu shuihan zaihai de chubu yanjiu” 清代以来三峡地区水旱灾害的初步研究 [A preliminary study of floods and droughts in the Three Gorges region since the Qing dynasty], Zhongguo shehui kexue 中国社会科学 1 (1999): 168–79.

Kondō Shigekazu 近藤成一, "Yēru Daigaku Shozō Harima no Kuni Ōbe no Shō Kankei Monjo ni Tsuite" イェール大学所蔵播磨国大部庄関係文書について [On Harima no Kuni Ōbe no Shō Kankei Monjo at Yale University Collection], Tokyō Daigaku Shiryō Hensanjo Kenkyū Kiyō 東京大学史料編纂所研究紀要 23 (2013): 1-22.

Han T’aesik 韓泰植, “Kyŏnghŭng ŭi saengae e kwanhan chae koch’al”  憬興 의  生涯 에 관한 재고찰 [Re-examination of the life of Kyŏnghŭng], Pulgyo hakpo 佛敎學報 28 (1991): 187-213. 

 

Databases

Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin 北京爱如生数字化技术研究中心. Zhongguo jiben guji ku 中国基本古籍库 [Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books]. Beijing: Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin, 2011. http://server.wenzibase.com/dblist.jsp.

DVDs / Films

Bibliography

  • DVD

Ershisi cheng ji 二十四城记 [24 City]. Directed by Jia Zhangke 贾樟柯.  New York: Cinema Guild, 2010. DVD

Tokyo Story. Directed by Ozu Yasujirō 小津安二郎. 1953. USA: Criterion Collection, 2003. DVD.

 

  • Film

Tōkyō Monogatari 東京物語. Directed by Ozu Yasujirō 小津安二郎. Shōchiku, 1953. Film.

 

Footnote

  • DVD

Ershisi cheng ji 二十四城记 [24 City], DVD, directed by Jia Zhangke 贾樟柯 (New York: Cinema Guild, 2010). 

Tokyo Story, DVD, directed by Ozu Yasujirō 小津安二郎 (USA: Criterion Collection, 2003).

  • Film

Tōkyō Monogatari 東京物語, directed by Ozu Yasujirō 小津安二郎, Shōchiku, 1953, film.

Book Chapters

Bibliography

Du, Weisheng 杜伟生. “Dunhuang yishu yongzhi gaikuang ji qianxi” 敦煌遗书用纸概况及浅析 [An analysis and description of the use of paper in Duanhuang manuscripts]. In Rongshe yu chuangxin: guoji Dunhuang xiangmu diliuci huiyi lunwenji 融攝与创新: 国际敦煌项目第六次会议论文集 [Tradition and innovation: Proceedings of the 6th International Dunhuang Project conservation conference], edited by Lin Shitian 林世田 and Alastair Morrison, 67-84. Beijing: Beijing tushuguan chubanshe, 2007.

Yoshimi, Shun’ya 吉見俊哉. “Mōhitotsu no media to shite no hakurankai: Genshiryoku Heiwa Riyōhaku no juyō” もう一つのメディアとしての博覧会: 原子力平和利用博の受容 [Expo as another media: reception of Atoms for Peace]. In Senryō suru me senryō suru koe : CIE/USIS eia to VOA rajio  占領する眼・占領する声: CIE/USIS映画とVOAラジオ [Occupying Eyes, Occupying Voices: CIE/USIS Films and VOA Radio in Asia during the Cold War], edited by Yoshimi Shun’ya and Tsuchiya Yuka, 291-315. Tōkyō: Tōkyō Daigaku Shuppan, 2012.

Ha, Insu 河仁秀. “Tongsam-dong P’aech’ong chŏnghwa chiyŏk palgul sŏngkwa” 東三洞 貝塚 淨化地域 發掘成果 [Result of the excavation on the shell mounds in Tongsam-dong purification region]. In Kogohak ŭl tonghae pon Kaya 考古學을통해본加耶 [Kaya seen through archaeology], edited by Han’guk Kogo Hakhoe 한국 고고 학회, 111-133. Seoul: Han’guk Kogo Hakhoe, 2000.

 

Footnote

Du Weisheng 杜伟生, “Dunhuang yishu yongzhi gaikuang ji qianxi” 敦煌遗书用纸概况及浅析 [An analysis and description of the use of paper in Duanhuang manuscripts], in Rongshe yu chuangxin: guoji Dunhuang xiangmu diliuci huiyi lunwenji 融攝与创新: 国际敦煌项目第六次会议论文集 [Tradition and innovation: Proceedings of the 6th International Dunhuang Project conservation conference], ed. Lin Shitian 林世田 and Alastair Morrison (Beijing: Beijing tushuguan chubanshe, 2007), 74.

Yoshimi Shun’ya 吉見俊哉, “Mōhitotsu no media to shite no hakurankai: Genshiryoku Heiwa Riyōhaku no juyō” もう一つのメディアとしての博覧会: 原子力平和利用博の受容 [Expo as another media: reception of Atoms for Peace], in Senryō suru me senryō suru koe : CIE/USIS eia to VOA rajio  占領する眼・占領する声: CIE/USIS映画とVOAラジオ [Occupying Eyes, Occupying Voices: CIE/USIS Films and VOA Radio in Asia during the Cold War], ed. Yoshimi, Shun’ya and Tsuchiya Yuka (Tōkyō: Tōkyō Daigaku Shuppan, 2012). 291-315.

Ha Insu 河仁秀, “Tongsam-dong P’aech’ong chŏnghwa chiyŏk palgul sŏngkwa” 東三洞 貝塚 淨化地域 發掘成果 [Result of the excavation on the shell mounds in Tongsam-dong purification region], in Kogohak ŭl tonghae pon Kaya 考古學을통해본加耶 [Kaya seen through archaeology], ed. Han’guk Kogo Hakhoe 한국 고고 학회 (Seoul: Han’guk Kogo Hakhoe, 2000), 111-133.

Newspaper Articles

Bibliography

Sha, Wutian 沙武田. “Shiku kaogu kaipi Dunghuangxue yanjiu xinlingyu” 石窟考古开辟敦煌学研究新领域 [Cave archeology to open a new field for Dunhuang studies]. Zhongguo shehui kexuebao 中国社会科学报, January 8, 2014.

Joo, Yong-jung 주용중, and Chung Woo-sang 정우상. “Miseo gwangubyeong bal-saeng-hamyeon suip jungdan” 美서 광우병 발생하면 수입 중단 [Will Suspend the Import if Mad Cow Disease Attacks in the United States]. Chosun Ilbo 朝鮮日報, May 8, 2008.

 

Footnote

Sha Wutian 沙武田, “Shiku kaogu kaipi Dunghuangxue yanjiu xinlingyu” 石窟考古开辟敦煌学研究新领域 [Cave archeology to open a new field for Dunhuang studies], Zhongguo shehui kexuebao 中国社会科学报, January 8, 2014, A05.

Joo Yong-jung 주용중, and Chung Woo-sang 정우상, “Miseo gwangubyeong bal-saeng-hamyeon suip jungdan” 美서 광우병 발생하면 수입 중단 [Will Suspend the Import if Mad Cow Disease Attacks in the United States], Chosun Ilbo 朝鮮日報, May 8, 2008, A1.

Websites / Blogs

Bibliography

State Council 国务院. “Quanmian zhengque lijie shehuizhuyi xinnongcun jianshe 全面正确理解社会主义新农村建设” [Fully and correctly understand the building of a new socialist countryside]. Last modified March 15, 2006. http://www.gov.cn/node_11140/2006-03/15/content_227640.htm. (accessed August 10, 2011)

Democratic Party of Japan. “DPJ Manifesto for the 2005 House of Representatives Election.” Last modified August 30, 2005. http://www.dpj.or.jp/english/manifesto5/pdf/manifesto_05.pdf. (accessed July 7, 2010)

 

Footnote

“Quanmian zhengque lijie shehuizhuyi xinnongcun jianshe 全面正确理解社会主义新农村建设” [Fully and correctly understand the building of a new socialist countryside], last modified March 15, 2006, http://www.gov.cn/node_11140/2006-03/15/content_227640.htm. (accessed August 10, 2011)

Democratic Party of Japan, “DPJ Manifesto for the 2005 House of Representatives Election,” last modified August 30, 2005, http://www.dpj.or.jp/english/manifesto5/pdf/manifesto_05.pdf, p. 9. (accessed July 7, 2010)