The goal of this guide is to direct you to the best resources for the study of French language and literature at Yale. The guide includes reference works, monographs, journal articles, databases owned or licensed by the library, and links to external web resources.
Questions? Would you like to discuss your research strategies, or even just bounce around a few ideas for a paper? Please give me a call (203) 436-9215 or email me (firstname.lastname@example.org).
A database produced by the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the Société d'histoire littéraire de la France and published by Classiques Garnier digital. It lists studies published since 1998 on French and Francophone literature, from the sixteenth century to today.
Experimental dictionary from the ARTFL project. Includes results from a number of traditional dictionary resources but also allows user definitions and feedback.
Digital library of the French National Library (BnF). Essential site for French digital images and documents.
Comprehensive and authoritative bibliography of all periods of French literature from medieval through contemporary. Klapp Online contains a database covering the years from 1991 to the present. The 1956-1990 years have been retrodigitised and made accessible in the form of a searchable PDF file.
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926