Skip to main content
Banner Image

Ethnicity, Race, and Migration Resources: Archives & Primary Sources

This guide highlights print and electronic resources relevant to the Ethnicity, Race, and Migration Program, plus information about Yale University Library's collections and services.

Primary sources (data, government documents, archives, etc.)

Numeric data

See: Social Science Data Resources

Government and intergovernmental organization documents

Many government and IGO documents are cataloged in Orbis (Yale library catalog) and/or MORRIS (Yale Law Library catalog).

See also the guides to:

News resources

Yale Library subscribes to databases that cover a wide range of news sources from around the world.

Archival collections

Search the Yale Finding Aid Database to identify archival and manuscript materials in Yale's libraries and special collections, including Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library and Manuscripts & Archives (located in Sterling Memorial Library). Finding aids are documents that include information about specific collections--typically, an overview of the collection and its contents, although the level of detail will vary from one finding aid to the next.

To identify archival collections beyond Yale, consult WorldCat, ArchiveGrid, or Archive Finder.

Primary source microfilm and databases

In addition to the primary source materials found in archives and the collections listed above, there are quite a few databases that provide access to digitized collections of primary sources--everything from Winston Churchill's personal correspondence to Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels. The Yale Library also has extensive microfilm collections that contain materials usually found only in faraway archives. Talk to a librarian to learn more about these resources.

Other primary sources

Extensive guide to primary sources at Yale University that includes diverse types of primary sources (manuscripts, maps, data, artifacts, and more), as well as information about relevant Yale collections, catalogs, and online databases. 

Melanie Maksin

Melanie Maksin
Contact:
Center for Science and Social Science Information
219 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06520
Schedule a meeting with Melanie
203-432-3310