Skip to main content

Public Health Information Resources: Journal articles

Guide to selected resources in Public Health

What are you looking for?

So many resources for finding articles! To choose where to start, consider what you are looking for. Do you want to find articles about a topic? Do you want to find all the articles about a topic? Do you want to familiarize yourself with articles from a particular author, grant, journal, or institution? Or maybe you already have a citation, and you just want to retrieve the article's full text? Or perhaps you already have an article's PDF, and you want to get its citation information into EndNote, RefWorks, or another citation manager? Different databases work best for different tasks. Check out all that we offer, and don't be shy -- contact me if you'd like to ask about choosing the right databases and crafting targeted searches for your research question.

Core databases for public health and biomedical literature: PubMed, Global Health, Embase, Scopus, Web of Science, Articles+

Specialty databases

How do I get full-text?

The Medical Library provides links to full-test electronic holdings via YaleLinks.

YaleLinks image

Not finding what you need?  Request it!

PubMed Special Queries

PubMed offers a number of specialized filters to help you get to relevant results. You can access these options from the PubMed homepage, under PubMed Tools > Topic-Specific Queries. Here are a few examples:

Which database should you use?

It depends! Here are some factors to consider.

  • Are you interested in journal articles, or journal articles + conference papers + research instruments + "grey literature"?
  • Is your topic covered in core biomedical journals and databases, or do you want to search the literature of other disciplines -- sociology, allied health, psychology, economics, engineering -- as well?
  • Do you want to search with controlled vocabularies and subject headings, with natural language keywords, or both?
  • Do you want to use operators for truncation and proximity?
  • Do you want to document and save your searches?
  • Do you want to download batches of citations into your reference manager?

Depending on the answers to these questions, I can help you choose which literature databases are the best for your research question.