Skip to main content
Banner Image

Special Collections Outside Yale University Library: Additional Collections at Yale

Access to Special Collections Outside YUL

The following page provides information on how to access, use and visit Special Collections available at the Yale University Art Gallery, Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History, Yale Center for British Art, Yale Collection of Musical Instruments, and the Lillian Goldman Law Library. Each box below contains Study Room and collection names, addresses, contact information, and relevant links by institution for additional information. Visit repository websites for further information on planning your visit and accessing collections, or see 'Search the Collection' to research the collections online.

Yale University Art Gallery

The Yale University Art Gallery’s permanent collection was founded in 1832 when the patriot-artist John Trumbull gave more than one hundred of his paintings to Yale College. Since that time, the collection has grown to number more than 200,000 objects representing Eastern and Western cultures and ranging in date from ancient times to the present day. The Furniture Study houses more than 1,000 works from the Gallery’s collection of American Decorative Arts. The Pratt Study Room houses approximately 100,000 coins and medals and 10,000 pieces of paper currency. The Duffy Study Room holds approximately 26,000 prints, 9,500 drawings and watercolors, and close to 12,000 photographs. Utilize search facets to limit by Department, Classification, and Availability for more precise results.

 

Yale University Art Gallery Furniture Study

1111 Chapel St. New Haven, CT

203-432-0632  |  yuag.furniturestudy@yale.edu

Website  |  Search the Collection

Access: By Appointment Only


Numismatic Library, Pratt Study Room

1111 Chapel St. New Haven, CT

203-432-1801  |  jane.miller@yale.edu

Website  |  Search the Collection

Access: By Appointment Only


James E. Duffy Study Room for Prints, Drawings, and Photographs

1111 Chapel St. New Haven, CT

Prints and Drawings: 203-432-0628  |  suzanne.greenawalt@yale.edu

Photographs: 203-432-9631  |  gabriella.svenningsen@yale.edu

Website  |  Search the Collection

Access: By Appointment Only

Yale Collection of Musical Instruments

Yale Collection of Musical Instruments is comprised of over 1,000 musical instruments from antiquity to the present. A permanent exhibit of historical keyboard instruments is displayed on the building’s second floor, where twenty-eight clavichords, harpsichords, and pianos from the 16th through the 20th centuries are on view. Temporary exhibits, as well as smaller displays of string, wind, and percussion instruments, are featured in the museum’s first-floor galleries. Visitors are requested to write or telephone in advance to inquire if a particular instrument will be on display during the day or week of their anticipated visit.

 

Yale Collection of Musical Instruments, Yale School of Music

15 Hillhouse Avenue New Haven CT

203-432-0822  |  musinst@yale.edu

Website  |  Search the Collection

Access: Open to the public and by Appointment September through July

Lillian Goldman Law Library

The Lillian Goldman Library at the Yale Law School houses one of the nation’s top collections of rare law books in the Paskus-Danziger Rare Book Room. Highlights include the world's most comprehensive collection of the works of Sir William Blackstone (1723-1780), a preeminent collection of Anglo-American law, an exceptional collection of Roman and canon law, the largest collection of Italian statutes outside of Italy, legal manuscripts from the 12th to the 20th centuries, law-related children's books, and over 4,000 published trial reports.

 

Paskus-Danziger Rare Book Room, Lillian Goldman Library

Yale Law School

127 Wall St., Level L2

203-432-4494  |  mike.widener@yale.edu

WebsiteSearch MorrisRare Books Blog  |  View Collection Images

Access: Open to the public and by Appointment

Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History

The Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History contains more then 14 million items, including extensive holdings of both modern day and paleontological specimen materials, anthropological artifacts, minerals and meteroritics, and historical scientific instruments. The collections are organized into ten curatorial divisions, listed below. Divisions are supported by the Museum Archives, Conservation Laboratory, Cryo-Collection Facility, Database Administration & Informatics, Operations, Facilities & Security, and Scientific Publications.

 

Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History

170 - 210 Whitney Avenue New Haven CT

203-432-3767   |  peabody.collections@yale.edu  |  Website

Using the Collections  |  Search the Collections  |  Collection Contact Information

Access: Appointments Highly Recommended; See individual department pages for details


Division of Anthropology

Division of Botany

Division of Entomology

Division of Historical Scientific Instruments

Division of Invertebrate Paleontology

Division of Invertebrate Zoology

Division of Mineralogy & Meteorites

Division of Paleobotany

Division of Vertebrate Paleontology

Division of Vertebrate Zoology

Yale Center for British Art

The Yale Center for British Art is a public art museum and research institute for the study of British art and culture. Presented to Yale University by Paul Mellon (Yale College, Class of 1929), the Center houses the largest collection of British art outside the United Kingdom. The collection of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, rare books, and manuscripts reflects the development of British art and life from the Elizabethan period onward.

 

Prints and Drawings, Study Room

1080 Chapel St. New Haven, CT

203-432-2840  |  ycba.prints@yale.edu  |  ycba.studyroom@yale.edu

Website  |  Search the Collection

Access: Open to the public and by Appointment


Rare Books and Manuscripts, Study Room

1080 Chapel St. New Haven, CT

203-432-2815  |  ycba.rarebooks@yale.edu | ycba.studyroom@yale.edu

Website  |  Search the Collection  |  Search Orbis

Access: Open to the public and by Appointment


Reference Library and Archives

1080 Chapel St. New Haven, CT

203-432-2818  |  ycba.reference@yale.edu 

Website  |  Search the Collection  |  Search Orbis

Access: Open to the public and by Appointment


Institutional Archives

1080 Chapel St. New Haven, CT

203-432-8395  |  rachel.chatalbash@yale.edu

Website  |  Search the Collection  |  Search Finding Aids

Access: By Appointment Only