Skip to main content
Banner Image

Southeast Asia in Manuscripts and Archives: About

This LibGuide is intended to highlight some of the major significant manuscript and archive collections in Southeast Asian Studies held in Manuscripts and Archives

About

Search Finding Aids

Advanced Search

What is a Finding Aid?

So...what is a Finding Aid?

A finding aid is a large document (you can download them as PDFs) that describes in common language what is contained within a collection. While the collection name often won't give you a lot of useful information, the finding aid will tell you exactly what is in each box and folder.

Am I allowed to look at these? How do I look at these things? 

Yes! All researchers (faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates) are welcome to use Yale's Manuscripts and Archives, located within Sterling Memorial Library. 

Southeast Asia Collections in Manuscripts and Archives

This Guide is intended to give students and researchers a starting point for learning about collections in Yale's Manuscripts and Archives that have Southeast Asian content. The nations defined as part of Southeast Asia include the following: 

Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, Timor Leste, and the Philippines

The collections listed here are just the highlights of the collections housed in Manuscripts and Archives. This is not an extensive list of all the collections held by Manuscripts and Archives. There are many other collections to be discovered not only in Manuscripts in Archives, but in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Collection, the Divinity Library and in other libraries, including the Peabody Museum on Anthropology. These other collections can be discovered and are described in Finding Aids by using the Finding Aid Database.

Highlighted Collections in Manuscripts and Archives

Librarian for Southeast Asian Studies

Rich Richie
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library, 212

Southeast Asia Reading Room: Sterling Memorial Library, 214



Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 208240

130 Wall Street

New Haven, CT 06520
1-203-432-1858
Website / Blog Page