Yale University Library Research Guides: MUSI 411: Critical Organology: Special Collections

Special Collections

The Music Library's special collections include the papers of composers and musicians, as well as individual manuscripts and rare printed books and scores. These include histories, musical instrument treatises and tutors, and theoretical writings.They are amplified by important collections at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Historical Sound Recordings and Oral History of American Music are also within the Music Library, but staffed by specialists in those areas

Guides and Website for Special Collections: at Yale

Music Library Special Collections
A guide to using the special collections of the Music Library, Historical Sound Recordings, and Oral History of American Music. Includes a list of archival collections.
Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale
And excellent introduction to methods for locating primary source material. Some of the information is specific to Yale, but there is considerable information for locating manuscript and archival materials in other repositories.
Primary Sources at Yale
An overview of different types of primary source material throughout the Yale University Library, and ways to search for it locally and beyond Yale.

Iconographical Collections

Portrait File by Yale University. Music Library.
Call Number: MSS 138
A collection of prints (engraved, lithographed, etc.) and the occasional original art work. Mainly portraits of composers and musicians, it also includes prints of keyboard instruments, and stringed or plucked instruments, as well as caricatures, music in art, and opera houses.

P.O. BOX 208240
New Haven, CT
06250-8240
(203) 432-1775

Yale

@YALELIBRARY

image of the ceiling of sterling memorial library

MUSI 411: Critical Organology: Special Collections

Special Collections

Image

Guides and Website for Special Collections: at Yale

Iconographical Collections

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries