Skip to Main Content

Cuba: History and Culture: Find Books

Library research guide on Cuba from colonial time through the present. Guide includes resources on slavery, culture and the Cuban Revolution

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Tipo Insurrecto" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1910. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-714e-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

How to Find Books at Yale University Library

Orbis
Yale University Library Catalog
Quicksearch
Search Orbis, Morris, and Articles+
Borrow Direct and InterLibrary Loan
Go to the "Request" section for links

Finding Books Outside of Yale University Library

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog. Contains millions of records of items owned by libraries around the world. It includes: books, films and slides, journals and newspapers (NOT individual articles), manuscripts, maps, musical scores, sounds recordings, computer files and videotapes.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
The CRL Catalog is the online catalog of the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. It focuses on hard-to-find materials including: archival materials, newspapers and periodicals (foreign & domestic, specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, U.S. state documents, US and foreign academic publications.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital archive that brings together the immense collections of major research institutions and libraries.

Books on Cuba

Bacardi and the Long Fight for Cuba by Tom Gjelten
Call Number: HD9394.C94 B334X 2008 (Bass Library)
Publication Date: 2008
Havana Nocturne: how the mob owned Cuba--and then lost it to the revolution by T. J. English
Call Number: HV6453.C9 E54X 2008 (SML)
Publication Date: 2008
The Cuba Reader by Aviva Chomsky (Editor); Barry Carr (Editor);
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009
Cuba by Richard Gott
Call Number: F1776 G68X 2005 (Bass Library)
Publication Date: 2005
Explosion in a Cathedral by Alejo Carpentier
Call Number: PQ7389 C26 S513 2001 (SML)
ISBN: 081663808X
Publication Date: 2001
Yale also owns this in the original Spanish - Siglo de las luces.

Subject Headings

Search these terms in the SUBJECT field in ORBIS or use as keywords in database searches.

Castro, Fidel
Cuba--Economic conditions, 1918-1959
Cuba--Civilization--19th century
Cuba--Economic conditions--18th century
Cuba--Ethnic relations--History
Cuba--Foreign Relations--1959-
Cuba--Foreign Relations--Spain
Cuba--Foreign public opinion, British
Cuba--History--1933-1959
Cuba--History--1810-1899--Sources
Cuba--History--Invasion, 1961--Sources
Cuba--History--Invasion,1961--Personal Narratives
Cuba--Politics and Governments
Cuba--Intellectual life--20th century
Economic sanctions, American--Cuba
Women--Cuba--Social Conditions
Women-- Political Activity--Cuba
Havana (Cuba)--Buildings, structures, etc.--Pictorial works
Havana (Cuba)--History
Santiago de Cuba (Cuba : Province)--History--Sources