"The TLG digital library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words"
This database offers the works of the Latin Fathers in a fully-searchable electronic format. The Patrologia Latina Database (PLD) is a comprehensive electronic version of the Latin portion of Jacques-Paul Migne's massive Patrologiae Cursus Completus, including notes, glosses and indexes
"provide a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels. In a basic search, selected works of Latin authors can be compared. Phrases from the texts which match in at least two of six relatively unfrequent words are grouped together for comparison, with links to their original context. "
Acta Sanctorum, a principal source of research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe and the lives of the saints, contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Société des Bollandistes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum published in 1940.
The complete text has been captured, including all indices and the references to Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL).
An online searchable version of the 19th century Dreves edition, the most comprehensive published source for medieval and Renaissance Latin Hymnody available today. The massive 55 volume work lays the foundation for the history and appreciation of Latin hymns. It includes previously unedited and scattered materials as well as published hymn collections. The Analecta hymnica treats hymn texts principally and includes some material on melodies for the texts.
The Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature Online (ACLL) is a full-text
database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking
Europe, together with the Latin works of the Continental 'peregrini', from the period 400-1200 AD / CE. It contains more than 400 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics,
grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal
texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.
The complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle.
This database contains those texts that have been critically edited in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus providing an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.
The texts included are prepared and supervised by the Aristoteles Latinus Centre of the Catholic University of Leuven, and produced in collaboration with the CTLO.
an online publication of medieval historical texts. The user can distinguish the major series, namely the Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates. There are similarities between the electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica and the sixth edition of CTLO's Library of Latin Texts. Users can select a word found in a text of CLCLT and automatically find entries on the word in the constituent dictionaries of the Database of Latin dictionaries.
Bible Versions of the Latin Fathers. This database contains comprehensive patristic records of the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron. These are Latin biblical texts that were in existence and use from the second century AD/CE until the time when the Vulgate became predominant are known under the common rubric of the Vetus Latina, or the Old Latin, Bible. The term Vetus Latina refers to all those biblical texts translated into Latin which are not found in the Vulgate.
reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information. Includes Etymological Dictionaries of Latin and Greek
an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Every volume contains the harvest of a single year and covers the entire Greek world. Material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included.
SEG presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. However, texts which are published in epigraphical corpora, repertoria or monographs containing elaborate indices are normally not included.
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online includes the printed SEG volumes 1-54. Future volumes will be added to the online edition. While the contents of the SEG Online are identical to that of the printed volumes, there are some differences in presentation and search possibilities.
a critical edition of the poems of Catullus, a repertory of conjectures on the text, an overview of the ancient quotations from Catullus that have independent source value, and high-quality images of some of the most important manuscripts.
"a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. In addition to all the texts of ancient Greek epic in the original Greek the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's translation of the Iliad, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss. Through the associated web site Eumaios users of the Chicago Homer can also from each line of the poem access pertinent Iliad Scholia and papyrus readings. "
The Vergil Project is a resource for students, teachers, and readers of Vergil's Aeneid. It offers an on-line hypertext linked to interpretive materials of various kinds. These include basic information about grammar, syntax, and diction; several commentaries; an apparatus criticus; help with scansion; and other resources.
a repository of coins previously featured in major numismatic auctions.
It brings together the text, images, and prices realized from catalogs issued by some of the world's most prestigious coin firms. With this site, you can search and view coin lots from a growing database of completed auctions.
Online database of "British Academy Research Project, the purpose of which is to publish illustrated catalogues of Greek coins in public and private collections in the British Isles. SNG has retained the traditional, very broad, definition of 'Greek' to include the coins produced by all ancient civilisations of the Mediterranean and neighbouring regions except Rome, though it does include the Roman Provincial series often known as 'Greek Imperials'."... "Currently some 25,000 coins from the Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum volumes are online in the form of a searchable database. The original data has been normalised to ensure consistent searches across the volumes. Eventually the database may be expanded to include unpublished material."
"he aim of the Roman Provincial Coinage series is to produce a standard typology of the provincial coinage of the Roman Empire from its beginning in 44 BC to its end in AD 296/7. The current Roman Provincial Coinage Online project is confined to the Antonine period (AD 138–192), but it is intended that it will form a model for putting other periods online in the future.
The database is based on the ten most important and accessible collections in the world, and on all published material. It comprises one of the largest collections of images and related inscriptions from the ancient world which is searchable by iconography, place, and time."
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
"Built on the art of ancient Greece and Rome, CLAROS is an international research collaboration, using the latest Information and Communication Technologies to enable simultaneous searching of major collections in university research institutes and museums." Collections and data sources include the Beazley Archive, the DAI, LIMC, Museums in Oxford and Athens, and more
The Classics Collection of digital images includes more than 6,000 images of excavations, site views, maps, site plans, elevations, and photos of all kinds of objects representing both high and low ancient material culture in the Classical world. Over the years, contributions have come from teaching and research collections of the Classics Department; students, as well as faculty of the Departments of Classics, History, and History of Art.
The cross-collection search above retrieves results from over 600,000 images in selected Library Digital Collections such as the Beinecke Rare Book and Mauscript Library, the Lewis Walpole Library, and the Visual Resources Collection. For a listing of collections covered by the search, or for individual collection access, see the Advanced Search page. For a listing of all collections see Digital Collections by Name. Some of the collections are only available on campus or via VPN. The site also includes a suite of teaching and learning tools, such as making a gallery/group if images and annotating it, available for those patrons with a Yale NetID.
The Visual Resources Collection is a digital library of over 270,000 images of global art and architecture. Faculty in the Arts and Humanities at Yale are welcomed to submit requests for new digital content to be added to this collection. This site allows users to create groups of images, annotate them, add outside content to the groups as well as share them.
collaborative effort to distribute and encourage the sharing of free digital imagery for the study of the ancient world. New York University's Institute for the Study of the Ancient World started AWIB by distributing imagery donated by its faculty, staff, and students via Flickr under a Creative Commons Attribution (cc-by) license.