Newspapers, Books, Magazines
- Accessible ArchivesA digital archive that contains some titles and/or dates of coverage not included in the America's Historical Newspapers database, including the early years the Pennsylvania Gazette, from 1728-1800.
- America's Historical NewspapersA large collection of digital newspapers from the 18th through 19th centuries.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
- American Founding Era (Rotunda)The Papers of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, and Dolley Madison from the University of Virginia's editorial program.
- American Periodical Series89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from colonial times to independence. The journals support research for a range of academic fields. Titles include Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories, and Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions. One of the first mass printings of the Declaration of Independence, a letter by George Washington on the crucial Battle of Trenton, and the thoughts of Benjam
- Burney Collection (17th & 18th Century British Newspapers)The largest single online collection of English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries
- Early American ImprintsEarly American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 has been hailed as the definitive resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18th-century America. This digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Parts I and II (ECCO)Large collection of digitized book, pamphlet, and ephemera material published in England during the 18th century.
- Eighteenth Century Journals Portal, Party I-VPart I: from Hope Collection, Bodleian Library, Oxford
Part II: from Harry Ransom Center, UT Austin
Part III: from British Library and Cambridge University
Part IV: Chetham's Library, Manchester & Brotherton Library
Part V: includes Lady's Magazine - Google BooksMiscellaneous collections from a number of major research libraries, including Harvard, Stanford, and Michigan. Use the date limits and fulltext limits to retrieve full documents. Although results in Google Books are somewhat random, there is a remarkable amount of material covering American Colonial history, as this content is no longer covered by copyright restrictions.
- Liberty Fund Online LibraryCollection of electronic books from 18th century thinkers and politicians, including Adam Smith, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and others. The focus is largely limited to well-known political theorists, economists, and politicians.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
- Times of LondonA full, digital run of the London Times newspaper, from 1785-1985.
Comments (0)
Government Documents
- American State Papers, 1789-1838The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838.
- Colonial State PapersColonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
- Google PatentsLinks to millions of US patents and patent applications from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, dating back to the eighteenth century and including patents as recent as the last few months. The google interface makes this rich collection readily searchable.
- House and Senate Journals, 1789-1817From its inaugural session, the United States House of Representatives has kept a journal of its proceedings. They are available in digitized form here.
- ProQuest CongressionalOne of the best sources for U.S. government documents. Contains the Congressional Record and numerous hearings, reports and other documents from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Tip: limit searches to individual Congresses to narrow searches. Also, choose advanced search to select different parts of the database, such as the large map collection (Serial Set Maps).
- Senate Executive Journals, 1789-1866From its inaugural session, the United States Senate kept a journal of its proceedings. They are available in digitized form here from 1789-1866.
General Databases of Colonial Era Primary Source Material
- Ancestry Library EditionContains hundreds of millions of names from sources such as federal and U.S. censuses; birth, death, and marriage records including the Social Security Death Index; and U.S. border crossing and trans-ocean ship records.
- Early Encounters in North AmericaThis database documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
- Electronic EnlightenmentA large database of letters and documents produced by a number of 18th century thinkers and statesmen.
- Fold3Large sections of the National Archives (NARA) in digital form. Colonial collections include the Papers of the Continental Congress.
- Making of the Modern WorldOffers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia.
- Religion and the Founding of the American RepublicOnline exhibit from the Library of Congress.
- Virginia Company ArchivesThis is an essential source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period. It documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It then shows the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas. This collection provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America.

Loading...
