Each Congress lasts two years, and is divided into a First Session (the first year) and a Second Session (the second year).
- CQ Weekly
Non-partisan legislative news and analysis. Can search by keyword, topic, bill number, date, and more; also includes a floor vote search. Create email alerts, RSS feeds, and saved searches.
- National Journal
Covers politics, policy, and government; daily political news; and more. Like CQ Weekly, a good source for finding out current status of legislation.
- The Hill
"The Hill is a non-partisan, non-ideological newspaper that describes the inner workings of the U.S. Congress, the pressures confronting policy makers and the many ways in which decisions are made." Published triweekly; can create search alerts (email or RSS).
- CQ Press Electronic Library
The subscription database includes CQ Weekly, Congress and the Nation, CQ Researcher, and CQ Almanac, all of which are excellent resources for information about Congress and its activities.
Begin with the resources below to explore documents produced by the legislative branch, or use the tabs above to locate current and historical congressional information, broken out by type of document (bill, hearing, etc.).
Need more information about a senator or representative?
- Congressional Directory, 1997-present (Government Printing Office)
- Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, 1774-present
Includes information about legislation and members of Congress, including campaign finance information.
- Politics in America (CQ Press; Yale subscription database)
This database from Congressional Quarterly provides detailed information on members of Congress and their districts and states (106th Congress-present).
Information on financial disclosures, foreign gifts, earmarks sponsored, privately funded trips, and Congressional staff salaries.
Combines bill texts and legislative voting records, supporting and opposing interests for each bill, and campaign contribution data.
- Influence Explorer
Search for politicians, companies, and individual donors to find data on campaign finance, lobbying, earmarks, contractor misconduct and federal spending.
- OpenSecrets.org: Money in Politics
In addition to providing information on campaign finance, "OpenSecrets.org has become a clearinghouse for data and analysis on multiple aspects of money in politics — the independent interest groups flooding politics with outside spending, federal lobbying, Washington's 'revolving door', federal earmarks and the personal finances of members of Congress, the president and other officials."
Search the Yale Library Government Documents FAQ: