Library Location & Workshop CalendarExplore the Sterling Memorial Library!Beautiful libraries in the world
BooksArticlesJournalsBook reviewsDissertations & ThesesCorpora and digital librariesMicrofilms at YaleRare Books, Manuscripts & ArchivesPrimary sourcesPrimary, secondary & tertiary sources
Reference databasesEncyclopediasDictionariesBiographiesBibliographiesGuides & companionsOrganizations & associations
Getting startedMulti-database searchBasic search strategy in 10 stepsLiterature reviewsFind more...
Applied LinguisticsSociolinguistics and Linguistic AnthropologyComputational LinguisticsNeurolinguisticsPhoneticsPragmaticsSemantics
Graduate studentsFreshmen & Senior Essayists
This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics   Tags: foreign_languages, language, linguistics  

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/linguistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Hello and welcome to the Yale University Library!   

 My name is Todd Gilman and I am your librarian for collection development in Linguistics.

The goal of this guide is to direct you to the best databases, reference tools, and on-line and print resources for Linguistics. It is my objective to provide you with pointers to as many areas of scholarly interest as possible, from books and academic articles to reference resources and interesting web links to primary and secondary resources that will help keep you abreast of current developments in Linguistics.

The selection of resources and (re)search strategies recommended in this guide is meant to reflect the trends and practices in Linguistics in general, as well as Linguistics holdings of the Yale University Library in particular. In addition, this guide also provides a few general tips on how to best navigate the research resources available to you when writing a scholarly paper on literary topics.

This guide will be updated periodically, so keep an eye out for new resources.  Feel free to give me feedback on the content of this guide and don't hesitate to send me a message if there is something I haven't covered here that you think should be added. 

Have questions? Want to discuss your research objectives and search strategies?  You're welcome to call or e-mail me anytime -- please see my contact information in the right-hand column. I will be delighted to discuss your needs!

I hope you enjoy reading this guide!

 

About your librarian

By way of introduction I have been Librarian for Literature in English at Yale since 2001, serving principally as library liaison to the Yale English Department and building our collections in English language and world literatures in English. I hold a BA in English (with a minor in French) from the University of Michigan—Ann Arbor (1987), a PhD in English from the University of Toronto (1994), and an MLS from Simmons College (2001).

Before becoming an academic librarian I taught expository writing and English and world literatures at the University of Toronto, Boston University, and MIT. I continue to teach, now in the field of book and library history, as a lecturer for various schools of library and information science including the University of Arizona and San Jose State University. I am also a frequent contributor to The Chronicle of Higher Education, for which I write opinion pieces concerning issues in academic libraries.

My scholarly interests lie primarily in the field of 17th - and 18th-century British literature, drama, masque, and opera. I have published articles in journals such as Eighteenth-Century Studies, Restoration, The Musical Quarterly, Theatre Survey, The University of Toronto Quarterly, and Literature/Film Quarterly. I recently published a book on the theatre career of England’s greatest native-born 18th-century composer, Thomas Augustine Arne: http://www2.lib.udel.edu/udpress/thomasarne.htm

 

 

Recommended library guides

I recommend exploring the following guides which provide valuable technical tips related to the effective use of the library and its resources.

Here you can learn how to efficiently use resources such as the library catalog, databases, EndNote, RefWorks, and others.

Here you can learn about Yale collections and resources for archival and manuscript collections.  Finding aids are inventories, indexes, or guides that are created by archival and manuscript repositories to provide information about specific collections.

Online Resources

  • Ethnologue
    Ethnologue contains information on 7,105 known living languages.
  • LINGUIST List
    The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world. LINGUIST is a free resource, run by linguistics professors and graduate students, and supported primarily by your donations.
  • Leipzig Glossing Rules
    The Leipzig Glossing Rules have been developed jointly by the Department of Linguistics of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology (Bernard Comrie, Martin Haspelmath) and by the Department of Linguistics of the University of Leipzig (Balthasar Bickel). They consist of ten rules for the "syntax" and "semantics" of interlinear glosses, and an appendix with a proposed "lexicon" of abbreviated category labels. The rules cover a large part of linguists' needs in glossing texts, but most authors will feel the need to add (or modify) certain conventions (especially category labels). Still, it will be useful to have a standard set of conventions that linguists can refer to, and the Leipzig Rules are proposed as such to the community of linguists. The Rules are intended to reflect common usage, and only very few (mostly optional) innovations are proposed.

Conference Proceedings

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Profile Image
Todd Gilman, PhD, MLS
Contact Info
Sterling Memorial Library
130 Wall Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
(203)-432-1761 (office phone)
Send Email
 

Where to find us & how we can help

 

Library Quick Links

Orbis (Yale Library catalog)

Yale Library Borrowing & Privileges

Yale Purchase Request (if you want us to buy a particular item for the library)

Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan (when an item you want is not available at the Yale Library)

Beinecke Library (the rare book and manuscript library at Yale)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip